On Death and Dying

At the end of 2023 I was diagnosed with Stage 4 non-small cell lung cancer and started treatment with an immunotherapy antibody called Keytruda. After three injections of Keytruda my immune system started attacking my own body.  I checked into the hospital where my condition quickly worsened, completely losing my appetite and any ability to conduct the most basic tasks. After about two weeks of drugs and blood tests and wires and tubes I called it quits. I started refusing treatment and told my doctor to let me die.  

My oncologist, Dr. Kelli Cawley, had a long frank conversation with me about my prospects for continued life. I expect she worked a lot of this out with my wife, Marsha. The picture she drew for me was a dire and not completely hopeful bit, presenting a small window of a chance to survive. To tell you the truth this really reminded me of a scene from the movie The Matrix in which Trinity, to escape the Agent chasing her, leapt off a building to dive through a small window in the building across the street to make her escape. Pardon me for not digging up a YouTube link to that scene.

Dr. Cawley did support me in refusing some of my treatment; all of the sticking of needles into my already black and blue arms. But she advised that I absolutely needed certain medications to aid my recovery.

After about a week my lung capacity had improved to the extent that I could be released to the care of home hospice. So, I got to go home and between you and me and the wall, I expected this to define the extent of my existence at the end of my life.

I graduated from home hospice. And I underwent radiation treatment. Today I’m technically in remission, which is to say that my cancer will kill me later.

Later this week I’ll have another petscan which will identify the next steps in my treatment. I’m optimistic that I’ll live a couple more years, and possibly more.

I tried here to make the description of treatment and the details of symptoms as brief as possible, sparing you from the indignities and hardships of cancer patient care.

End Notes

I found myself unprepared for dying. Having at least a couple more years gives me some room for estate planning and providing for loved ones. I’ve tried to address seemingly simple things like providing access to investments, income and properties to my spouse so that she can just pick up and go on without complications. And I’ve tried to provide for deserving relatives.

I’m thankful to the Veterans Administration and to Medicare for blunting the sting of the cost of health care during this time. There’s a strong argument for a young person to enlist in the military while young just for the benefit of health care when they are old.  

I’m writing here to explain why I’m still alive. I think I gave several people the impression that I was as good as dead. And frankly, I really believed I was about to die at the end of last year. I hope you’re not disappointed. No worries, the end is certain.

BLOG1642

Send your Questions Comments and Impassioned Speeches to Bud Houston, Houston.Bud@gmail.com.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “On Death and Dying”

  1. mapollitt Says:

    I have missed seeing your writing and was concerned that you were looking toward the end. I am glad that that part is not now but in the future as it is with us all. I turned 80 in February and often think how fortunate I am to still doing dog sports (agility training with Deb Auer) And competing with my border collie-(the sheltie you met long ago is 13 and doing nosework now, but my vet says she has an athletic heart). I hope that your health will give you many good and comfortable days ahead, not only to get ”affairs in order” but to enjoy all you can with those things you like to do. I look forward to more writings!! Thankfully, Mary Ann Pollitt

    • Bud Houston Says:

      Thanks for the note Mary Ann. I’m glad to see you are still playing at agility. I’m afraid all of my agility dogs are either retired, or over the bridge. <sigh>

  2. Martha Gray Says:

    Dear Bud,

    <

    div>      I have followed your agility lessons for some time and always appreciate your kindness and generosity.  Your post

  3. Erica Says:

    Best blog ever. Just talked about you today at a trial and how you’ve always been my biggest influence in agility and philosophy. Keep on keeping’ on. ❤️

  4. Martha Gray Says:

    Here is my ema

  5. deborahauer Says:

    I have missed your blogs, although they do not replace seeing you in person, which I also miss. I still vividly remember the lessons learned in seminars, your “charming” bluntness, and discussions over dinner with the seminar group post-seminar. The end is certain for us all…but none of us should give up on living. Let us hear more from you. Please.

    • Bud Houston Says:

      It’s true, I haven’t done much writing these days. As an old tech writer I got to be “in the moment” as I explored how to train dogs and handlers for agility. But I don’t train any more, and I don’t teach. I do have an ongoing series on Clean Run Classrooms (the Joker’s Notebook) for teaching independent performance. It’s kind of my legacy. Tho I’d feel better about that legacy if students would actually do their homework.

      Anyhow Deb, thanks for your note. It’s always good to hear from you.

Leave a comment