BigLittleBook

Okay, I’m going to show you a magic trick. You’re going to take one piece of paper and turn it into an 8-page booklet. I call it a BigLittleBook. First I’m going to give you instructions, then I’ll give you a link to download a Word Template. And, just so you know, the template is a bit of a puzzle if you don’t have the instructions first.

Take yourself a piece of paper, and number each side with four panels, like this:

blog295_01

The front side is panels #1 and #2… but you turn the page upside down to label #3 and #4. Then flip the page over, and the same numbering logic applies to #5 through #8. It’s important that #5 and #6 are at the top of the page, on the same end as #1 and #2 on the other side.

blog295_02

Now you just fold it up; top & bottom, then lengthwise. You’ll see that the bottom has folds in it, so you should trim off about a 16th of an inch so the pages get to turn. I also like to put a spine staple in it.

Now if you number your new book (8 pages!) starting at page 1 and straight through to the end you’ll find that the panels you numbered initially have just about nothing to do with the page numbers. So if you want to create your own book… you need to know what panel corresponds with what page in the finished booklet.

This really isn’t as hard as a Rubik’s cube. But I’ve never really had much patience for that kind of riddle. The onliest one I ever solved some might have called cheating. I peeled off all the little labels and put them where they needed to be, and was quite proud of myself, mind you. Oh, anyhow… I’ll give you this cheat: A correspondence table:

Page 1 = panel 2

Page 2 = panel 5

Page 3 = panel 8

Page 4 = panel 3

Page 5 = panel 4

Page 6 = panel 7

Page 7 = panel 6

Page 8 = panel 1

Okay, here’s a link to the template:

http://www.dogagility.org/files/BigLittleBook8p11inch.doc

The next thing you need to know is how to print this thing.

  • First you print page 1
  • Then you turn it around and print page 2 on the bottom of the first print
  • Then you print page 3 on the back of the page (note that it should be at the top of the paper, directly behind the page #1 print)
  • Finally you print page 4 on the only open slot you have left

Finally, follow the folding, trimming and stapling instructions above. Voila! You’ve made your first BigLittleBook.

My First BiglittleBook

Back when I was in high school in Tucson, AZ we published a cartoon newspaper for Amphitheater High School. Of course, I didn’t’ go to Amphi… I went to Canyon Del Oro. Canyon tended to be kids whose parents were a little more wealthy (not mine, actually). And a bunch of country kids went to Amphi and did FFA and 4H and that kind of stuff. So we published this kind of underground lampoon and distributed it under kids’ windshield wipers at Amphi. Frankly it wasn’t very kindly. I did a cartoon strip called “Jethro and Bucky!” who would do heroic things like root out the greasers who used the boys bathrooms as dens of perdition (smoking cigarets).

Bells and Whistles

For my niece Angi’s benefit I’ve got to show the statistical aberration of blog hits in the past few days. On January 10th I posted a note on AGILEDOGS Listserv about my survey on the impact of today’s economy on dog agility (see https://budhouston.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/the-fortune-cookie/) . It created a high water mark on January 11th with 424 views of my weblog on that day. The formal top mark was on January 6th, with 148 views.

blog295_03

Angi has been doing some work for my on my website and has suggested that I shouldn’t use a public domain blog engine to publish elements of my web page and indeed, that I should move the blog to my own web site.

To tell the truth what I like about WordPress is that it has wonderful tools, including the statistical tracking tools. I have also observed that some people put up WordPress pages and don’t have their own domain at all. I guess that’s rather doing it on the cheap. Why not?

When writing the “Managing Your Tubes” bit (https://budhouston.wordpress.com/2009/01/07/managing-your-tubes/ ) I was basically geeking out about the implications of some of the tools available to me on the internet. The paradigm is constantly shifting. By the way, while the hosting company for my website has statistical tools they are not actually as flexible or as accessible as those provided by WordPress. And trust me, they provide no sophisticated formatting or page creation tools.

I was a bit reluctant to leave Agilityvision.com where I formerly kept my blog. Eric’s site came close to becoming a real community of agility people. After struggling with technical difficulties and down time I ventured to WordPress just to have an avenue. Now it would be very difficult for me to go back because I find myself in a much much wider community of bloggers and frankly have tools that weren’t available on Agilityvision.

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

