The Limbaugh Letters #1

I spent a bit of time this morning writing to several advertisers on Rush Limbaugh’s hate radio show that I was striking them off my approved commerce list.

Please understand that IMHO Rush Limbaugh is a stupid and evil man. But since stupidity and hatred play so well in this country these days, he has quite a following. The only thing that I can really do is vote with my wallet. It was an easy Google query to figure out who’s advertising with him these days. And even though there are products and services on the list that I’ve used in the past and might have used again in the future, I cannot in good conscience give money to any business that promotes and supports an evil hate-monger like Limbaugh.

I’ll publish the complete list in a couple days. For now, I wanted to share at least one of the correspondences I’ve gotten back.

I wrote:

>>
Advertising with Limbaugh?

I’m sorry guys, I’ve totally lost respect for you now. Limbaugh is a hate mongering criminal… and it strikes me that you apparently want to pander to the lowest dregs of our society. With that in mind I will no longer be your customer because I do NOT consider  myself the lowest dreg by any stretch. We’re  not doing projects with Lumber Liquidators anymore.

I think people who don’t listen to Limbaugh need to know who props him up in the world and lets him spew his vile rhetoric.
<<

The response I got back was:

>>
SUBJECT: Comments to the Office of Tom Sullivan, Chairman

Dear Mr. Houston:

Thank you for writing to us today.  The opinions that we receive from individuals or groups are important to us and we respect your right to express your opinion. Our customer base is just as diverse as the advertisers or programs we select to promote our products. We choose these mediums of advertising and programs based on ratings, not on the political affiliation, opinions or attitudes of the host. Lumber Liquidators does not endorse or support the comments made by the program participants or their advertisers.
<<

To which I have replied:

>>
Dear Mr. Sullivan,

Two days ago Rush Limbaugh went on a rant, dealing with our new President in a spirited racist fashion and announced that he hopes Obama fails. Obama’s missions are to restore the hope of the middle class, the standing of America in the opinion of the world, to create new jobs, and to turn around the devastating economic downturn.

I take from your reply that you have no sense of social obligation, remorse, or responsibility for the actions and antics of this person who you support financially. Is that a correct assessment?
<<

I just can’t wait to see how they respond. And I’ll be sure to share with you the response.

Regards to all,
Bud

4 Responses to “The Limbaugh Letters #1”

  1. Erica Says:

    Bet you $5 your reply will be:
    Dear Mr. Houston:

    Thank you for writing to us today. The opinions that we receive from individuals or groups are important to us and we respect your right to express your opinion. Our customer base is just as diverse as the advertisers or programs we select to promote our products. We choose these mediums of advertising and programs based on ratings, not on the political affiliation, opinions or attitudes of the host. Lumber Liquidators does not endorse or support the comments made by the program participants or their advertisers.

  2. budhouston Says:

    Okay… send your $5 asap.

    As it turns out Mr. Sullivan has a sense of humor. I’ll share with ya’ll tomorrow.

    Here’s the deal about advertising… the advertiser must be careful of controversial characters. What if (just what if) everybody who despised Rush Limbaugh for the evil little creep that he is… also despises the people that give him money to carry on his campaign of hatred? I mean, it’s not a neutral proposition.

    We’ll see how it plays out.

    Regards,
    Bud

  3. Amanda Says:

    I applaud your actions, Bud. Looking forward to seeing the list of advertisers so I can NOT do business with them. And I’m curious to see Mr. Sullivan’s humorous response.

  4. Jill (Summer's mom) Says:

    Good for you, Bud. I agree with you about Limbaugh and I’m looking forward to the list of advertisers.

    Jill (Summer’s mom)

Comments are closed.


