The Limbaugh Letters #2

I mailed several more letters today to the advertisers on my list, explaining to them that I cannot be a customer to them if they give financial support to Rush Limbaugh. For the record Limbaugh is a self-promoting propagandist and a liar who has done considerable damage to America. There is no reason to give financial support to companies that, in turn, give financial support to Limbaugh.

A day or two ago I got a note from Tom Sullivan, Chairman/ Founder, Lumber Liquidators, Inc: “PS – we have stopped advertising on the Rush Limbaugh show.” Consequently I’m taking Lumber Liquidators off the Limbaugh Advertisers list. That’s a considerable relief to me. I found Mr. Sullivan even in the narrow dimensions of email text to be a man of humor and grace.

I also got $5 in the mail from Erica who left a comment on The Limbaugh Letters #1, betting ($5) that I’d get a carbon/copy kind of response from Lumber Liquidators. What he actually said, when I told him I’d mention him on my blog, was “Thank you!” I presume that to mean that he didn’t mind a bit more exposure.

The Republicans

I was reflecting the other day on the unfairness of targeting advertisers, who really just want to be successful in the world, pay their mortgages, feed their families… that kind of thing. Though from my POV the only way you can stop a creep like Limbaugh is to try to turn off the money making his cruel existence possible.

The really creepy thing is watching the Republican Congress kiss Limbaugh’s back-side and cower fearfully before him. They are all scared to death of him. It must make Rush feel powerful, very powerful indeed. The once great and proud Republican party has been reduced to hoisting up a hate mongering creature of ill temper and moderate intelligence as the grand poobah of the party. If he’s their future, I’m going to have to predict that they have no future at all.

Watching the Republicans is fascinating. I am waiting for some stout of heart Republican, if there is such a thing, to stand up like a man and speak to Limbaugh. In my fanciful imagination it would play like the speech of Mr. Welch to Senator McCarthy during the commie hearings back in the 50’s.

Mr. Welch: Senator, you won’t need anything in the record when I finish telling you this. Until this moment, Senator, I think I never really gauged your cruelty, or your recklessness. …

You’ve done enough. Have you no sense of decency, sir, at long last? Have you left no sense of decency?


Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

2 Responses to “The Limbaugh Letters #2”

  1. Amanda Says:

    That’s great that Lumber Liquidators saw the light, and that the CEO seems to be a decent man.

  2. Ron Watson Says:

    You Rock, Bud!
    peace,
    ron

Comments are closed.


