Hacked

Some hacker got into my web service provider’s space and did quite a bit of childish damage. It’s kind of a cruel and mean spirited thing like breaking windows and setting puppies on fire. I suppose there’s a special place in hell for the hacker; though I’ll leave it to Dante to frame the justice of their particular hell. Mostly people who do such things are cowards, and are exercising the only real power they’ll ever know in their lives, the power to corrupt and destroy.

Anyhow, the coward deleted all of the files that represent the electronic books that I sell (I have something like eight years of unique lesson plans available to anyone who wants a nudge in their training.) So I must re-upload the lot of them… a task for which I don’t really even have the bandwidth. But I’ll get it done as best I can over the next few days.

What the Heck

I’m nearly reluctant to write to my web log over the weekend. In the agility community people are out doing agility and having fun on the weekends. So my reader stats go way down-by half-on every weekend. So during the week while people are reconciled to not having any fun, they read my BLOG. Okay, that just doesn’t sound right, does it?

I figured that what I should really do is not skip the blog on weekends. I mean if nobody is going to read it… why go through all the work and trouble. But then I figured, what the heck.

blog351_01

The intention of this exercise is to force a right turn at the tire at #4. This is a job for a layered Tandem (a Tandem Turn in which the handler doesn’t cross the face of the hurdle). The handler stays to the A-frame side of the containment line. It’s important in the moment of the tandem to have reserved enough real estate to convince the dog into the turn by the step and rotation of the Tandem. Note that all the handler is really doing is turning the corner. Dogs understand enough about our movement to translate a natural movement.

blog351_022

The intention of this exercise is for the handler to remain to the left of the containment line shown. The turn from jump #2 to the pipe tunnel at #3 will have to be a Tandem Turn. Remind your students that a lateral distance step would be a good idea to sell the corner to the dog. The handler will remain at a lateral distance through the performance of the A-frame and when sending the dog on to the table.

I reckon some people will want to be standing still flapping their arms when the dog comes out of the pipe tunnel. It’s a more powerful signal for the handler to be in motion, parallel to the dog’s path.

blog351_03

In this sequence the handler will have to change sides to his dog at the dismount of the weave poles. This probably should be accomplished with a Front Cross (twizzle or Axel) to draw the dog around to line up for a straight send through jump #2 and on to the pipe tunnel at #3.

The Front Cross in question is what I call a serpentine Front Cross, which is more correctly a combination movement – Front Cross and Post Turn. Out of the Front Cross the handler really wants to draw the dog around in an arc that more neatly lines up the left side of the pipe tunnel. Otherwise, the right side is just about as logical to the dog as the other.

The handler is expected to stay on the side of the containment line opposite the A-frame, layering the jump and tire between himself and his dog during the performance of the A‑frame and table.

Note, the handler at a distance will be a legitimate proof of the dog’s contact performance, no matter what performance the handler subscribes to. If the dog is still in training it’s a good idea to reinforce the correct performance by stepping in to reward the dog. The table isn’t all that important, after all.

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

