Fixation

I had an excellent, if small, seminar in Chicago over the weekend. I got back somewhat exhausted as I drove on Sunday evening for as long as I felt I was awake enough to be safe then pulled over at a roadside where I slept in the back for about three hours before getting up to finish the drive home. I’m really getting too old for this kind of traveling. And so today I’m doing mindless muscle chores and getting rested as I can.

blog366

I’m a little fixated on this set of obstacles. The numbered sequence might have a number of different handling solutions. The idea of layering the #7 pipe tunnel must natural occur to many handler’s for shaping the approach to jump #3. I’d also be interested in seeing if the handler could negotiate the entire sequence on this side of the red containment line.

I stumbled upon an agility BLOG post entitled: “But I Don’t Play (Insert Distance Game Here). So I Don’t Need Distance, Right?” The title of the post drew me up short. It’s an argument I’ve seen from agility handlers for a couple decades. So I decided to check in on the poster to understand their logic. As it turns out I shouldn’t have presumed to think I was going to read an essay on why not to learn to work a dog at a distance. The author (Lorrie) provides an excellent discussion of the value of distance training. Read it for yourself: http://lorriemaxx.wordpress.com/2009/04/16/but-i-dont-play-insert-distance-game-here-so-i-dont-need-distance-right/

In about 20 minutes I need to be in the training building for my Tuesday privates. Maybe I’ll talk more about my fixation sequence again tomorrow.

Legacy

From the movie Rocky Balboa “A legacy is what you get instead of getting paid.”

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

