Nittany

Well it was a blast working with the central PA folks. It was a great bunch of dogs and frankly a game group of handlers. Bruce Springstein was in town for a concert and on an apparent mission to screw up local traffic and fill the local hotels. It puts my life in balance and perspective to realize that 10,000 turned out to see the Boss, while only 20 came to see me.

I drove straight home after the seminar because I was anxious to meet my new BC pup Kory. I finished up a book on tape on the drive and managed to start another. I gave considerable thought to what turned out to be the object lessons in central PA. Mostly it was about movement, which is kind of predictable with me. But you know I’m pretty sure that I observed a geographic idiosyncrasy with this group. Inasmuch as they all train together they have shared faults in terms of their movement and mannerisms in handling. I found myself repeating quite a bit… “you need to stop handling, and do your job.”

Too often in our sport movement of the handler becomes a stylized ritual or a grandiose gesticulation divorced from the original intent, which is to direct the dog in the conduct of the course, to show him where he’s going. I like to think that I teach with a statement of the obvious. Do your job. Show the dog where he needs to go, and so forth. But it’s a hard lesson because so many of us are so intent on managing the dog through the course that we are unable to achieve the sublime and simple.

I have two private lessons tomorrow. I’ve had in my head to write a strategic analysis of the agility game “Truth or Dare”. I think tomorrow is the day for it. It’s a game that would play very well in the USDAA. Maybe if I get invited to judge a DAM tourney I’ll insert this game as the gamblers component.

Today I don’t really have the energy for it. I’ve spent the day finishing a section of wainscot and frankly doing some foundation work with Kory. I worked at charging the clicker for him mostly helping him learn his new name. He’s fit in right nicely with the rest of the pack. This boy is going to be fun.

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

One Response to “Nittany”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I still think “Chip” woulld be a great name; but I understand (Hic)Kory. Anyway, it kinda fits you; the hickory stick will bend a bit but always bounces back to it’s own shape.
    Kory is sure cute; I think you’ll be learning a lot from him. Be sure and post lots of pictures. Maybe Bogie can teach him to bowl Pringles cans!
    Have fun!
    Michelle

Comments are closed.


