PAWI

I’m working this week in camp with a group of students who are familiar and well accustomed to my teaching. Most of these are from Altoona, PA. But I have one student from Wisconsin as well. This is my PA WI camp.

It is typical with students who understand my teaching that we can move beyond basics and work on problem solving sequences. I find that it’s a relatively simple matter to teach movements. However, teaching my students to recognize the moment for a movement in application is sometimes the more arduous journey.

BLOG411 

In the course work that I set up over the weekend for my Sunday mini-clinic I recognized an interesting combination of three-jump pinwheels. I renumbered for my campers as in this illustration. And frankly they had considerable early success.

However I did note that most defaulted to fast dog handling (that means the handler puts his movements behind and pushing). I guess it’s a fact that we get most of our teaching in this country from people with high drive dogs. They would have us believe that the handler shouldn’t every have to give a speed cue to their dogs. So I switched just about everyone to slow dog handling (meaning that the handler’s movements are forward and pulling). About all dogs found a new gear for work. Agility at its finest is a running game and a race. We leave the question of control to obedience handlers.

I suppose that in this writing I didn’t really detail the handling solution on a moment by moment basis.

Greg Derrett

During our lunchtime break I’m reviewing the Greg Derrett Agility Foundation Training video. Kory is very interested in the dogs working in the video. He has a couple three times now run to put his paws up on the TV and barked at the dogs working and playing there. Who would have thought that a dog could make sense of television images. But he clearly has sorted it out at some level.

With any luck he’s absorbed Greg’s training protocols. If he doesn’t, no worries. I was watching too.

We continue our three-a-day training drills. I think I’ve told you that we’re working on teaching Left and Right. I’ve used at least three different context methods and will continue at it. What makes a word language is consistency of use. And I will continue my work with both Left and Right until these words are language with a clear and palpable meaning.

I find that my recall certainly needs more work. It is too often optional to Kory. With dog training you shouldn’t really wait until you need a thing to consider training  it.

BLOG411

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

