Red Roofin’ It

I made a modest start on my trip to NY driving two and a half hours to a Red Roof haunt near Morgantown, WV. I’ve taken Blue and Kory with. Blue is along because she needs more brave experiences out in the world to develop her courage for trailing experiences in general. And Kory of course is my boy and he’s going to go with me just about whatever I do in the world.

After my yesterday’s petulant blog outburst I’m content to be back on the road again. I sat with my campers of the week at dinner and jumped into the Suburban to begin the trip as soon as it didn’t strain politeness to do so.

It was a very fun camp as I think I’ve noted attended predominately with folks who’ve been training with me for several years now. I introduced today the concept of “doodling” which is simple playful movement which I really should write about in greater depth at a moment when I can make my thoughts as playful as my movement. It is possibly a new approach in my teaching from which I can influence the handler to get past the tight controlling and clutching that spoils movement by so many handlers.

BLOG414

I’ve sent this to Sue Sternberg as the setup for the evaluation course at Rondout. We’ll see if anyone up there actually remembers it. It is an adaptation of the last exercise we did last time I was up there.

How to tell the sex of a fly

A woman walked into the kitchen to find her husband stalking around with a fly swatter.
“What are you doing?” She asked.
“Hunting Flies” He responded.
“Oh....... !    Killing any?” She asked.
“Yep, 3 males, 2 Females,” He replied.
Intrigued, she asked, “How can you tell them apart?”
He responded, “Three were on a beer can and two were on the phone.”

BLOG414

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

