Easy Peasy

For the mini-clinic this weekend I will set up station work for the Get Out using the pillbug intrusive step methods. But I also want to do some basic sequencing.

BLOG425_01

The introductory set will be the red numbered sequence. This is simple enough.

In the white numbered sequence I want to talk a little about the handler as the architect of the dog’s path. Note that neither of the approaches to the two contact obstacles is guaranteed square. So I’ll give a little talk about the handler’s responsibility in creating a square and safe approach.

BLOG425_02

The new red-numbered sequence features an opening that is interesting. There might be a couple of fine ways to solve. If I have to specify handling I might show a serpentine Front Cross in the transition between jumps #1 and #2 so that the dog comes out of the Cross square for jump #2 and a straight approach to the weave poles at #3.

The approach to the A-frame deserves a bit of discussion as well. The handler might want to bend into the dog’s path to push out the corner of approach to square it up more nicely.

The closing of the sequence is a bit of a serpentine with a nearly blind approach to jump #6. I really don’t care how a handler solves this… but I’m thinking that the handler would very much like to make the approach to jump #6 with dog on left.

The white numbered sequence features an interesting transition from jump #3 to the pipe tunnel at #4. We’ll talk about fast dog (Post & Tandem?) and show dog (Front Cross?) solutions.

BLOG425_03

The red numbered sequence is a bit whimsical. I thought for a moment that this might be a good setup for “What’s My Line” (do all the obstacles without repeating any); but realized as I traced through a solution… that this solution would be obvious and easy to find. So… I just set it up as a sequence. It isn’t really even all that interesting, except maybe the transition from #7 to #9.

The white numbered sequence has a couple interesting serpentine moments. Some who’ve trained with me might assume that if I put up a serpentine I might want to see Blind Crosses. To tell you the truth… the serpentine is a good way to teach a Blind Cross. But the Blind Cross is only occasionally the best handling of the serpentine.

BLOG425

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my new publication the Idea BookAgility Training for a Small Universe available at www.dogagility.org/store.

