Politics

I’ve been distracted this week by the goings on in a TDAA BOD meeting on Wednesday last. You’ll recall that I said I was finishing up the design of some 40-odd courses for a couple judging assignments I have at the end of next month. Well, that left me pretty exhausted and in no good mood for a TDAA teleconference call. Dang I shoulda been there.

As it turns out two members of the board went on the full attack, taking advantage of the idea that I wasn’t there to protect myself. Mostly what they were doing, I presume, was making argument to disenfranchise me of duties related to the TDAA (like my responsibilities for Rules; heading the judging corps; overseeing the Judge Advocates group; development of Petit Prix Tournament Rules; my ability to have input on the selection of judges and games and so forth.)

Let me see… they want to get me fired from a job that I don’t get paid for, and I spent hundreds of hours working at in the past year. Hmmm! How should I feel about that? (Losing a non-paying job, I mean).

You must know that I abhor politics; and specifically because it brings out the calculating side in some people. I’m not completely dark-minded pessimistic about this. We have several members of this BOD whose work has been both spectacular and tireless. We’ve gotten a lot of work done this year.

Awhile back I mentioned that I might quit the TDAA because of the political BS. I mean, it’s not like I don’t have anything else to do in life. But you know Marsha pointed out to me, correctly, that if I were to walk away then I’d pretty much be relinquishing my privilege to have any kind of voice in the organization whatsoever. Further, that means that the schemers win. I feel like I’m in one of those bad slasher movies where I go back into the house to investigate rather than getting my ass the heck outta of there.

Anyhow, I’m expecting a CD with a recording of the BOD meeting that I missed, so that I can live through every delightful moment.

BLOG493_01

BLOG493

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my latest publication the Just For Fun Agility Notebook #30 available at www.dogagility.org/store.

2 Responses to “Politics”

  1. Mister Bunny Says:

    why I hate dog clubs…too many people get too caught up in the minutia that no one else cares about (save the other 23 people in the club), and manage to destroy the place in their efforts to make it oh so perfect.

    good luck

  2. Stefan Elvstad Says:

    I’m with you 100% – I’ve seen it in all kinds of clubs and I just can’t understand how anyone can think it OK to destroy the spirit of a club and its members by focussing on pressing points or winning arguments. Presumably all share the goal of making the most out of the club and the time volunteered by devoted members, but there always seem to be some who think it is all about their ego.

    Marsha is right, but just don’t let it break you. So many of us rely on you for inspiration and training ideas.

Comments are closed.


