A Mad Rush

Yesterday I was contacted by Music City K9, in Nashville, TN for an emergency judging fill-in assignment. Today I spent about 8 hours driving. Tomorrow, and over the weekend, I get to judge another judge’s courses. It wasn’t a terrible imposition. I had to rearrange some commitments over the weekend. This is something I’ve done three or four times over the years.

Nobody has actually commented that I didn’t actually know what day it was yesterday (I asserted in my blog that it was Thursday. But you know, today’s Thurday too.)

It makes me wonder when it was exactly I stopped keeping track of the days of the week.

Zak

I received word yesterday that my old friend Zak, a Coonhound has died. It’s true that I plied his affection with doughnuts. Barbara Ray, his mom, figured that he must have been a beat cop in a former life. Whenever Zak saw me, about once a week, he’d curl his lips back in a charming imitation of Elvis Presley in a wonderful smile of recognition. In agility Zak was mostly just sensible. He never saw much necessity for actually running through the work except for maybe the last three obstacles as he remembered that he would get a treat then, and maybe even a doughnut.

BLOG498_01

BLOG498

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my latest publication the Just For Fun Agility Notebook #30 available at www.dogagility.org/store.

One Response to “A Mad Rush”

  1. sligo Says:

    “In agility Zak was mostly just sensible. He never saw much necessity for actually running through the work except for maybe the last three obstacles as he remembered that he would get a treat then, and maybe even a doughnut.”

    I love this. People often forget that the bulk of the dogs at trials are the Zaks, and that if you have one (and I have had a few), it’s important to honor their doggedness and honesty in their agreeing to go along with your (and by your I mean my) insistance that we do something like agility. they’ll run the course and do the weaves and contacts but occasionally some part of their honest personality will shine thru as they gaze off into the crowd at an imaginary child, or stand on the top of the A-frame contemplating what wrong turn in life led to this moment.

    If I believed in an afterlife for dogs or anything else, I’d want Zak to go find my old guy who died two weeks ago, and spend some time disussing things like holding both ends of the teeter off the ground or jumping a 30 inch triple. Backwards.

Comments are closed.


