More on Compulsories

I’ve believed for a very long time that the agility team (dog and handler) should master a number of compulsory exercises in establishing a firm foundation for agility work. What exercises and skills are needed to improve the performance of the team? These should be the foundation for training.

BLOG508_01

I searched around on my computer to find what my past work on the topic has been and found a list that I put together something like three years ago. It strikes me now that every darned one of these deserves a complete article, white paper, or blog post. So hang with me this winter and I will try to finish up my work on this topic.

Compulsory Exercises

November 27, 2006

The game of chase – Running with your dog

Building toy motivation ~ tug and retrieve

Two Jump Riddle of Sides

Figure of 8 – tight and technical

The Australian Triple – technical jumping

Around the Clock – conditioning the tire, and other obstacles

The Static Post – City Driving vs. Country Driving

Ripping apart the Velcro

  • Working on a parallel path
  • Progressive sending – jumps, and other obstacles
  • Owning the Pinwheel

Exercises for Handler Movement

  • Front Crosses – when to square, roll, or precue
  • Blind Crosses – on the serpentine
  • Tandem Turn – from simple to layered
  • Back Crossing
  • Counter-Rotations – RFP and the Flip

Mastering Obstacle Performance – Upping the Criteria

  • Jump
  • Tunnel
  • Collapsed Chute
  • Table
  • Teeter
  • Dogwalk
  • A-frame
  • Tire
  • Weave Poles
  • Spread Hurdles

BLOG508

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my latest publication the Just For Fun Agility Notebook #30 available on the Country Dream Web Store.

One Response to “More on Compulsories”

  1. Linda Stutz Says:

    I’m looking forward to the series you mentioned……so far I think I’ve mastered exactly 0 of these with Dixie- maybe a couple with Sherman. Well, Dixie will run with me, but does alot of jumping up in the process.
    I’ll be watching for the posts.
    Linda

Comments are closed.


