How About Them Buckeyes!

I hope you’ve all been having a lovely holiday season, got all the gifts you wanted from under the Christmas tree, and have made resolutions you’ll actually keep on New Years.

I’ve been doing a few chores and enjoying the freezing weather (as much as an Arizona boy can enjoy it, mind you). The constant deluge of college football games has been delightful for me. The best of course was the Ohio win at the Rose Bowl.

Distance Training Workbook Published!

I’ve just published the first issue of Go the Distance ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Workbook – Jan 2010. And, I got it up on the web-store. I really intend to publish this on a monthly basis. And I’m hoping that I can live up to the high standard that I’ve set for the publication.

The Workbook is only available right now as an electronic book (in .pdf format) 120 pages long. Frankly, I’m setting such a modest price for the Workbook that it would be difficult to actually print and ship it for that price.

For readers of my web log I’ll discount that price! Follow this link to the Country Dream web store:

http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/

Okay, and once you start the order enter “special01” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

It is my practice now with electronic books… any Clean Run Course Designer course map can be opened into your CRCD if you click on the upper-right corner of the course map. That will allow you to move things around or even swap equipment to put the lesson plan to work in your training center!

Distance Training Content Writers Wanted!

I’d be very interested in receiving submission of complete articles, and lesson plans, and exercises from the many content experts in this game. I’ll be spending the next several days calling the Workbook to the attention of some of these content experts. Publish or perish! I’ll be mostly interested in complete and polished manuscripts.

Please email me at BudHouston@hughes.net if you have a training article you’d like to see published.

Resolutions

My resolution this year is once again something quite simple: Make a Difference. My dad once told me in my troubled youth that the secret to being a good man is to conduct yourself as a man that your children would be proud of. I’ve thought about that quite a lot over the years. I don’t really regret that I’ve never had children and so can’t test the essential litmus of the proposition. And yet in the daily decisions that a person might make… the real secret is that we do know what is right and what is wrong.

Make a difference. What that probably means for me this year is to continue my work with recycling. I know you probably thought it had something to do with dog agility. I’ll share with you if I actually get anything done this year.

BLOG528

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. And Check out my latest publication the Go the Distance ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Workbook – Jan 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/

4 Responses to “How About Them Buckeyes!”

  1. Mark Says:

    Bud – I already have the “Go The Distance” Volume #1 published in 2004. Now you are doing a second “Go The Distance” Volume #1. How do they differ other than the old one is an 8 week program? Does that mean one would be required to spend $10 every month to get a new chapter?
    Just curious, Mark

    • budhouston Says:

      Hi Mark,

      Actually, readers of my blog will get a $5 discount just about every month. Frankly, given the hundreds and hundreds of hours I put into the project… it’s pretty much a minimum wage job. lol

      We’ve changed the name. It’s the “Jokers Notebook” now. Frankly, it’s in every way superior to the original notebook that I wrote with Stacy Peardot. Distance training is not a static thing that can be wrapped neatly around a stand-alone workbook. Like life it evolves and goes on. That’s what we’re doing with the Jokers Notebook.

      Regards,
      Bud Houston

  2. Coleene Davidson Says:

    “Buckeyes” otherwise know as Horse Chestnuts and to my knowledge, totally useless-though the tree is beautiful and the shade wonderful on a hot summer afternoon.

    A Wolverine!

Comments are closed.


