Weave Pole Recall

As you may know I’ve been torturing my students on a regular basis with distance training exercises and proofing riddles. And as a consequence I’m starting to see some solid returns from that investment in training. In the gamblers league play game this evening we had an 80% Q rate.

Of course I’m always interested in taking the next step. We ran an exercise in class with a considerably lower success rate. And so I’ll put my students on a bit of homework make them more successful.

The challenge that I posed was a simple recall through the weave poles. In this course map I had the handler on the landing side of the jump in a simple table to weave to jump sequence.

I’m showing the training exercise in the drawing. I’ve taken the liberty to wire up the entry to the weave poles and the dismount. Once I’m having good success with the overall exercise I’ll fade the wires and just do the raw weave poles.

What the handler should do initially is lead take a more modest lead-out so that the dog isn’t faced with such an unprecedented starting position by the handler. Now I show the handler moving down the line in 5′ increments from repetition to repetition. The dog might be more successful if the handler took a more modest incremental progression of maybe only 2′ at a time.

Should the dog fail, my response is usually to cut the starting position back by half in the weave poles. That means… if I’ve led out to pole #8 and the dog bobbles the entry, on the next try I will lead out only to pole #4 and progress from there.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

Who is this character? And what is the phrase that he typically used to refer to his wife?

First correct answer posted as a reply to this blog post wins a free copy of the March Jokers Notebook (or April, if you prefer).

BLOG566

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – March 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special03” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

10 Responses to “Weave Pole Recall”

  1. Adrienne Says:

    Here’s our guess (Tony helped) the character is W.C Fields and he calls his wife “My Little Chickadee”.

  2. courtenay Says:

    It’s Horace Rumpole, and his wife is “She who must be obeyed”

  3. Bryan Says:

    This is not Google proof.

    • budhouston Says:

      Maybe so. But writing a “google-proof” riddle is quite a challenge. And I’m slowly learning how to do it. Last month I skunked the field only once (and the answer was “Multi-Flora Rose”)

      I’m pretty sure that “Googled” information is not knowledge at all and has no real requirement for experience or awareness or even a library in your basement. So what I’m endeavoring to do, now through imagery, is to require enough knowledge to go run the lazy keyboard query.

      And like any challenge against which I set myself (training a dog, for example); I’ll get better at it with time.

      Regards,
      Bud

      • Bryan Says:

        For the record, the query that I used was:

        “his wife” “aka” judges lawyers law british justice

        He looked British, at least.

      • Adrienne Says:

        Well hooey! At least I finaly guessed that it was a rambling rose bush. Funny enough “multi-Flora” came up on another blog I read. Too bad I didn’t put the two together!

        Adrienne

  4. Maggie Says:

    Bud,

    Gee, My answer was Flora bunda. I believe that is the Ohio Slang for the mulit flora Bush. LOL!

    • budhouston Says:

      Actually, you were very close… without actually answering correctly. The Florabunda is a cross from the Multiflora Rose.

      Ohio people should get this one right. The MF Rose is a scourge.

      Regards,
      Bud

Comments are closed.


