Biorhythms

Yesterday I goofed off. Don’t get me wrong, I tried to work but was in general uninspired and even unable to organize my work into an agenda or the daily “To Do” that helps me stay focused. I played too many games of Solitaire on the computer; I went for a family walk in the lower field; I worked on Kory’s Sits and Downs in the basement for a game of tug in reward; and we went into town for the all-you-can-eat fish dinner at the Catholic church.

Do you remember back when the PC first kinda hit the world? One of the apps that seemed to be popular back them was the biothythm chart, this thing that tracks your emotional, physical, and intellectual cycles. It’s kinda gobbledygook science based from the date of your birth. But anyhow there’s some underlying logic to it that suggests that we have peaks and valleys in power and initiative with which we approach both our chores and passions. Sometimes I’m a complete machine managing to be organized and relentless in my work. And sometimes I’m just a passenger, sitting on the dock, watching everything flow past.

The weather has been improving at least. Today it’s getting up to about 45° which is downright balmy. I’m beginning to think (to be fooled into believing) that winter has been broken and I’ll be putting in the garden before very long. I’ll remember this as the winter of four blizzards. Yep, that’s kinda how the winter  went. We’d get a big deep snow and I’d go out and scrape and shovel and plow… and then another would set in. There were four of them altogether. While I’ve complained about winters in Ohio before, being an Arizona boy and all, I find myself this year just being thankful that I don’t live in some really god-forsaken winter place like Siberia, or Antarctica, or Traverse City, MI.

I do have my garden planned however. I’ll probably start seeds under a sunlamp sometime this week in the basement. I’m going to about double the size of the garden this year. I want to have more potatoes, broccoli, and I’ll add cauliflower as well. The garden will include the usual tomatoes and peppers. Also I reckon I’ll put in asparagus so that in a few years these will be giving us a regular summer crop.

Okay, I do have some out of doors work to do today. So I’d better get out there and get to it. Oh, and by the way, I went out on the Internet and ran me a couple different Biorhythms. It was interesting that they showed all of my wave/curve/sine things below the critical line yesterday… but with everything on the upswing. LOLZ… so I can rely on that gobbledygook science to take heart and approach this new week with some optimism. Eh?

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

When I was in junior college I belonged to this “society”. Please spell it out! And, to what does the acronym refer (hint: it so applies to me.)

Note: It’s not completely Google-proof to anyone even slightly clever. Get over yourself.

First correct answer posted as a reply to this blog post wins a free copy of the March Jokers Notebook (or April, if you prefer).

BLOG568

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – March 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special03” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

5 Responses to “Biorhythms”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Arete Gnosis Sophrosyne or Excellence Knowledge Wisdom

    (I need a life . . . 🙂

  2. katie Says:

    alpha gamma sigma
    It’s a social and professional agricultural fraternity (or so wikipedia tells me. . .)
    🙂

  3. Adrienne Says:

    To add to the above:

    “Alpha Gamma Sigma, or AGS as it is often called, is the California Community College Scholastic Honor Society.

    “The Greek Letters in our name were selected because they are the initials from Greek words whose meanings
    represent the motto of AGS: ‘Add to good character, knowledge, and judgment.’

    “ALPHA stands for ‘Arete’ meaning ‘Excellence’
    GAMMA stands for ‘Gnosis’ meaning ‘Knowledge’
    SIGMA stands for ‘Sophrosyne’ meaning ‘Wisdom'”

    • budhouston Says:

      Well Adrienne, I gotta say that you won again. Cindy overthought it… and Katie didn’t finish the question. So, you gotta tell me again who gets the Notebook.

      Bud

  4. ruckus scottie Says:

    Oh come on, give us a challenge.

Comments are closed.


