Ring My Bell!

Okay it was pretty cute in class tonight as Rene’s Tuzi did the teeter and rang a bell that had been placed in easy reach from her 2o2o dismount. It was just a lark… Rene had taught Tuzi to ring a bell for a food treat. So it makes a nice finish for a contact performance. Maybe we need to get it on You-Tube eh?

My boy Kory has a tendency to come off sideways in his 2o2o dismount if I am too far away, lateral or behind. I’ve got this scheme working in the back of my head that I could teach him to ring the bell. Then I could use it on contact dismounts to teach him to come off straight. The bell becomes a secondary reinforcer and frankly a lure to shape the performance that I want.

I’m having a lot of fun with Kory’s directional commands; left and right. It is bizarre to me that at just over one year of age he’s just nailing his lefts and rights… while he hasn’t even learned all the obstacles yet. Yes, I’ve saved the weave poles for last; he doesn’t completely understand the tire; and he treats the table like a trampoline.

Here’s a fun sequence for directional control. On the dismount of the A-frame I’ll layer to the opposite side of the tire and #1/#6 jump. As he gets in the 2o2o I’ll wait a long pregnant moment and then tell him “Right! Tunnel!” Getting him to see the #6 jump is somewhat more problematic. Like I said… it’s bizarre.

Spring Chores

Okay I’m tired tonight. That accounts for my rambling tone. I started the day chopping vines in the woods. Yeah, that’s right. At a little “Y” intersection down below the training building the vines have killed three 40′ pine trees and a large oak. I’ve had to hack my way through the bramble of multi-flora rose and debris to find the mother plant… a sprawling creature with vine boughs bigger around than my biceps. I’ve already been three days cleaning up that bit… and dragging the cut-away to a bonfire arrangement below the training field.

I’m transplanting some of the small trees coming up in that area. I have nearly 50 trees temporarily arranged until I can figure out where I want to move them to. A bunch won’t survive… but where they were, none of them would have lived more than a year or two as there would be no light for them in the understory.

This evening I had a private lesson and two classes and our league game of the week. That was a good break.

Tonight I’ll sleep well. Tomorrow morning I’ll go down and resume my war with nature.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

I have 300ish DVDs in my collection which is arranged in alphabetical order. With what titles does the collection start? You only get one guess.

The first answer to name one of the first four in my collection, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the March Jokers Notebook.

BLOG576

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – March 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special03” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

12 Responses to “Ring My Bell!”

  1. Mark & Ebby Says:

    Above the Law

  2. katie Says:

    Alien?

  3. Betty Says:

    ABBA Gold: Greatest Hits

  4. Erica Says:

    A Boy and His Dog

  5. Karissa Says:

    Ace Ventura — Pet Detective? :o)

    • budhouston Says:

      I’m abashed to say that I actually own this one. Tho it’s about 6th in my collection (alphabetical… numbers first).

      Regards,
      Bud

  6. Nora Says:

    The African Queen. OR Aguirre, the Wrath of God (that would be #1 in mine if they were alphabetized).

  7. Deb Auer Says:

    Bud –

    Your collection starts with numbers, not letters. In any given list, numbers always go first – then items are listed alphabetically.

    But I’m having fun trying to figure out which movie is the first in your collection. “2 Fast 2 Furious”? “2001: A Space Odyssey”? Bo Derek’s “10”? “10 Things I Hate About You”?

  8. budhouston Says:

    I’m going to call this contest officially closed. I’m actually going to send the March Jokers Notebook to Deb…who didn’t get it right; (gave more than one answer, which was against the rules; and didn’t actually name any of the DVDs in my collection). But… at least she got the concept right.

    The first four DVDs in my collection are:
    28 Days Later
    300
    3:10 to Yuma, and
    8 Miles

    Regards,
    Bud

    (so, if you think about it. I win. And posted yet another truly google-proof riddle. It kinda sounds like the riddle posed by Bilbo that stumped Gollum.) What was that riddle?

  9. Deb Auer Says:

    “What have I got in my pocket?”

    But not Google-proof.

Comments are closed.


