Mile High Club

I’ll have to apologize in advance for not posting a new lesson for the TDAA’s course design college today. I have an article I’m working on that’s just not done yet. Tomorrow maybe?

Yesterday I had a bit of a revelation… my building is too small. I’m going to have to take equipment down into the lower training field where I have more on the order of 10K ft sq to work with. I’m already sending my boy Kory the length of the building, testing the “Go On” command.

This was the basic set of the floor lat night. The curl of the line of jumps pretty much works with the dog’s tendency to curl back to the handler’s position. I’ll deal with the prospect of straighter and farther at a later time. While I show the send line way back by the first jump, I did some conditioning of the send starting from the third jump.

I was especially interested turning him back out of the of the curl of jumps using a directional “Right” command. In the beginning Kory had a couple/three slight errors I had to train through. One tendency was to back-jump the turning jump. He also turned when I gave the pre-cue directional rather than continuing to the turning jump a couple of times. And… several times he continued an extra jump before making the turn.

The way I deal with error, btw, is to deny the reward. Yesterday we were working with a canvas/rope Frisbee; which I would throw, and then give him a game of tug when he returned to me. So if he offered wrong, then he got neither the throw nor the game of tug. Kory is quite clever in figuring out the rules of a training game. Of course he never has to be apprehensive about guessing wrong. It’s all win/win for him.

In asking Kory to turn “Right” out of the curl of jumps I worked awhile forward-chaining the behavior. One jump, turn right; two jumps, turn right… and so forth until we were working down the entire line of five jumps.

I also played a bit with turning him to the left so that he’s not always conditioned to turn out and away. What was interesting about turning to the left is that I had to give him another supplemental “Left” as he came around the wing of the jump to look back in enough to see the next jump returning back to me.

I especially had fun proofing my 2o2o contacts with Kory coming to me over the A-frame. He has such a high reward association with the contacts right now that I wasn’t surprised at all that he nailed this every time we did it.

End Notes

Just so you know, I’m working my young 13 month old BC pup at 16″. And if this whole thing seems like a lot of hard work for a young dog… I agree. I believe it’s my job to make sure he’s well developed both physically and mentally. And frankly I’m finding that the best way to keep him from bouncing off the walls in the evenings is to allow him to appreciate the prospect of relaxing and recuperating. That’s right, I fully intend to give him a good physical workout just about every day so he gets in the habit of being chill in the evenings.

The work I described above was not the extent of our workout last night. I also reserved work in the weave poles. But I really should save something for discussion in the Jokers Notebook. Right?

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

What college football team (same year) has the most players inducted in the Pro Football Hall of Fame? What year did they play? What bowl game did they play in that year?

The first correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the March Jokers Notebook.

BLOG580

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – March 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special03” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

One Response to “Mile High Club”

  1. Betty Says:

    The University of San Francisco’s magnificent Dons of 1951. Three of the players, Gino Marchetti and Ollie Matson (both in ’72) and Bob St. Clair (in ’90) were inducted inot the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

    The 1951 USF Dons team was not given an invitation to play in a bowl game that year. (But one of the teams they trounced went to the Sun Bowl ….)

    A fascinating an enlightening article written by Ryan Callan (USF ’01), titled “The Indomitable 1951 Football Dons”, can be found on the following web page: http://www.usfdons.com/trads/football_trad.html

Comments are closed.


