What Day is This?

Kory was fairly magnificent in class last night. His response to directional commands is uncanny, meaning that I can pretty much run him in remote control.  This is an important consideration as he works at such a pace that I just cannot keep up with him. I’m not as fast as I was ten years ago… but even then, I would not have been fast enough for this dog.

This is one of the sequences that we ran during class, based on the set of the floor for the Power & Speed game (http://wp.me/pmSZZ-xk). I start him on an aggressive angle to the first jump and let ‘er rip without much of a lead-out at all. By jump #5 I’m already more than 10 yards behind, and so a good “Left Jump” command on the approach to the jump has him turning neatly to the #6   jump and on his way back down to me. A thing I’ve always maintained, the faster is the dog the farther ahead the handler gets.

Kory has his rough edges. He’s imperfect in the weave poles (I started that training 3 weeks ago); and sometimes he’s a bit exuberant on the finish of contact obstacles. Also, he’ll creep on me at the start line. Well, that’s the short list. But I look at it kinda like this… I have a list of refinements that you might expect of a dog showing in Masters with three years of experience behind him. Imagine what he’ll be like when he’s actually old enough to compete.

I’m not an obsessive compulsive dog trainer to be sure. I’m jumping Kory at only 16″; and I didn’t start his weave poles until he was a year old. And yet I have this canny animal ready to work for me that clearly has skill that was undeserved based on my training regimen. I can see why people like to train the Border Collie… it’s a breed that makes the dog trainer look smarter than he really is. I think I like that.

What Day is This?

OMG… I thought that yesterday was the last day in March and so I was not prepared to finish up the April Jokers Notebook. I played an Aprils fool joke on myself, I guess. Don’t get me wrong I had the copy finished; but there’s a lot of technical details. I was up until about midnight linking the 125 or so course-maps in the .pdf so the reader can click on the upper-right corner of a drawing and spawn it immediately into their own copy of the Clean Run Course Designer. It’s my geek thing… and all electronic books I publish from now on will have that feature. This morning I got up early in the ayem to create all the bookmarks in the .pdf, and create links from the table of contents to the bookmarks. I think this is an anachronistic step. But you know, I’m an old bookie hack. Then of course I had to list the book on eJunkie and then modify a couple of my webstore pages that carry the product (http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ and http://countrydream.wordpress.com/webstore-agility-lesson-plans/). And don’t you know I created the discount code (Special04) for people who follow along with my blog.

Okay, so I’m a day late. I hate being late. But there it is.

I’ve pretty much decided that I’m going to a bi-monthly format for awhile. I have my first camp of the season next week. Things are going to get pretty heated up for me, probably through October. So in the winter I might go back to a monthly format. We’ll see how that goes.

The Notebook on one level is a chronicle of the training of my own young boy Kory. All of the lesson plans that I inflict on my own students are spawned from the training ambitions I have for my own dog. Over time I expect a metamorphosis in the content to reflect Masters level skills. We’re coming upon that so abruptly.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

What is this breed of dog?

The first correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the March Jokers Notebook.

BLOG586

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – April 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special04” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

3 Responses to “What Day is This?”

  1. Ronni Says:

    American Allaunt

  2. Adrienne Says:

    Cane Corso?

  3. courtenay Says:

    he’s a presa canario.

Comments are closed.


