Snooker

It’s my belief that the best Snooker players in the world are in North America! I might be wrong on this… or you could add that the Brits would have something to say about it. But, the Super Q rule in the USDAA especially has created the proper condition to make the competitor a bit of a keen go for the gusto kind of player who seeks the win rather than the modest Q.

Just between you and me and the wall, to some extent I was disappointed that the TDAA membership this past year voted away the requirement for a certain number of wins in competition in order to earn the TACh.  I understand the arguments about inequities and so forth. But I was never one to moan and groan and wrench my hands about those inequities in the first place. We were  on our way to establishing ourselves as the only North American venue that required their champions to be… actually, champions. Every championship in our culture is a simple time over money proposition.

Anyhow, today our game in camp was Snooker. The object lesson was a thing about how the attitude of the lead hand is language to the dog as to whether I want him in handler focus or obstacle focus. And Snooker is a fine foil for teaching that lesson as sometimes I have to conduct my dog across the field whilst skipping obstacles that an overtly obstacle focused dog might insist on taking.

This is a simple three red hurdle format. Big dog time is 50 seconds; small dog time is 55 seconds. Everything is bidirectional in the opening; and the combination at #6 can be taken any whichaway. In the closing everything must be taken in the order and direction indicated by the numbers.

I apologize for not giving the newbie briefing. I’ll assume a mastery of the game.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

For today’s game of snooker, what was the score of the winning dog? And, please demonstrate the order and direction of the obstacles taken in the winning strategy.

The first correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the April Jokers Notebook.

BLOG589

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – April 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special04” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

7 Responses to “Snooker”

  1. Karissa Says:

    My score, assuming I executed it correctly, would be 50. I would do the Red on the start line, the 7 a-frame, the Red on the upper left, the 7 a-frame, over to the Red on the upper right (staying south of the tunnel), then the 6 sequence in reverse (so that you exit on the left side of the bottom tunnel) down into the closing sequence.

    Originally I thought taking the dog walk might be the safer route to the start of the closing sequence, but exiting the 6 tunnel to the left should be a fairly secure route.

  2. Ronni Says:

    I like to see people try for 51 points so here’s my guess (though I suspect that if you’re asking for the direction of the obstacle taken, then #6 was involved somehow)…

    –51 pts
    –bottom red to A-frame
    –top left red back to A-frame
    –far right red to A-frame, pulling back through the middle between the tunnel and the dog walk

  3. Erica Says:

    49 points – center red – left 6a, tandem to right 6b, tandem to left 6c – scoop to right side red – FC to right 6c, left 6b, tandem to right 6a – RC left side red – 7 then on to 2-3-4-5-6-7-then search for a table to stop the time.

  4. Renee Says:

    Okay… I’ll throw in my guess… a daring handler would take the red jump in the upper right hand corner followed by the A-Frame then red on the start line then A-frame then red in the upper left hand corner followed by A-frame. Then 2,3,4,5,6,7. Score=51. First red away from start line followed by a nifty rfp to the AF toward the SF line. Second red jumping over the finish line then returning to the AF. 3rd red toward the wall wrapping left to return to the AF… then numbered course in order. Seems impossible!!! but… that’s my guess.

  5. Renee Says:

    PS… RFP between 6b and 6c.

  6. Chris Mosley Says:

    I like Renee’s 51. Running around the outside of the course to get the red that’s furthest away is a thrill!

  7. Michelle Says:

    I am still disappointed in TDAA membership voting out the win requirement for a championship title. It wasn’t as though all the Q’s had to be wins; I still hope for a reversal of that decision on a future vote. Some of the things I love (d)about TDAA was the requirement for a clean run to Q, the requirement for some wind for the championship title and the fact that vets are titled with the rest of the competitors. I also ike that thereis not “second class” track. Hopefully nothing else will change. I don’t want TDAA to become a miniature CPE or AKC or NADAC. I’d rather it remain an organization that sets high standards and requires skills not seen so much in other organizations so apparent in the variety of TDAA games.

Comments are closed.


