Hope at the Line and Alibi on Deck!

I’ve taken an emergency replacement judging assignment for the weekend. I thought I was going to get caught up with TDAA course reviews. Oh well, I still have the week ahead of me for that.

I’m in Raleigh, NC. It has been a lot of fun working with the people in this area. They’re lovely folks and charming in their southern hospitality. I’m pretty sure that as my boy Kory gets old enough for competition I’ll be looking for trial opportunities in this part of the world.

This snippet is from Pat Corl’s Grand Prix course… which I judged. This was a lovely Grand Prix course on paper… but ran much rougher. Often we see a course that’s an absolute tiger on paper runs sweet and smooth. This course was the contrary… it looked sweet and smooth on paper, but ran like a tiger.

An extraordinary high number of NQ scores were earned on the two jumps following the stereo performances of the 20’ pipe tunnel at #5/10. I’d like to offer a hypothesis for this. I say from time to time that the pipe tunnel is a cannon; and it fires the dog like a cannon ball into space. Mostly the “firing” is random and inaccurate because the dog cannot be influenced by the movement of the handler… who he can’t actually see.

In the first pass through the pipe tunnel the handler is trapped behind by getting the dog out through the tire while dodging the #14 jump option. And so the handler loses the long foot race back through the long pipe tunnel which allows the dog to curl sharply out of the tunnel, earning a refusal at the #6 jump.

On the second pass through the pipe tunnel the handler more often than not gets into the pipe tunnel with dog-on-left and so risks losing the dog to a wrong course as the dog curls back to jump #6.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

What are the colors of the snooker flags in the USDAA (#1 through #7).

First correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the June Jokers Notebook.

BLOG610

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – April 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special04” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

3 Responses to “Hope at the Line and Alibi on Deck!”

  1. Betty Says:

    Flags #1 are red, #2 is yellow, #3 is green, #4 is brown, #5 is blue, #6 is pink, and #7 is black.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Dang, I never read htis as soon as it is written!! Betty has them right. We have poles with actual balls on top painted the correct colors and numbered. Loks pretty cool on the course!!

Comments are closed.


