Plan vs Implementation

Okay I’ve already made adaptations to my Around the Clock Weave Pole drill. Nevermind that yesterday my clock was actually running in the wrong direction; I found that setting four jumps with a 20′ radius from the first pole at intervals dictated by the clock actually put the jumps too close together for flow approaches (unless I was doing teacup or something… but then the radius should be less than 20′. Eh?)

Anyhow I’m pleading heat-stroke from the last two days. I stood out in a fairly blazing sun for three days down in North Carolina. And you must know that the judge is the only one who has to suffer the sun in that way. Everybody else sits in the shade for the greater part of the day.

This is what I actually put up on the field. You’ll note that the set of jumps on the dismount of the weave poles, on either end, provide the “allure” enticement for breaking the performance early. I’m willing to accept that right now because it allows me to give my terrible correction (not praising or giving a reward) to make a training point. Kory is very clever about figuring out what he has to do to earn the reward.

The two jumps at the bottom center of the drawing represent different clock-face approaches to the weave poles depending on which side you are making the approach; give or take 15 minutes.

The spacing of the jumps becomes important when I begin practicing my weave pole approaches out of sequence work. There are a variety of possibilities in this set of equipment. The obvious thing is the serpentine as demonstrated here. But I also might work on threadles and pull-throughs.

Note that distance work for an independent performance is implicit in all work I do with the weave poles. In general I will avoid working in the soft bit of real estate between the weave poles and the curl of jumps.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

This fellow co-starred in an eponymous hit show in the 1960’s. He also was the star of a short-lived television show in the late 1950’s about a boy who lived in a circus whose parents had died in a trapeze accident (sometimes I think I’m the only one in the world who actually remembers that show).

This is a three-part question. Who is he? What were his stage names for both series I’ve mentioned? What are two series?

First correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the June Jokers Notebook.

BLOG612

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – April 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special04” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

2 Responses to “Plan vs Implementation”

  1. lisa Says:

    Micky Dolenz
    Micky Braddock – Circus Boy (Corky)
    Micky Dolenz – The Monkees

  2. Carole Says:

    Hey, Hey, It’s Micky Dolenz of the Monkees. He was Corky in Circus Boy (with stage name Mickey Braddock).

Comments are closed.


