Golf

The objective of this game is to run a series of numbered sequences; earning as few faults as possible. The game is scored like golf; meaning that the fewest strokes wins the game. If a sequence is run without faults, then the score for the sequence is 1. Each fault in the sequence will increase the score 1 point. Faulted weave poles must be retried until successfully completed. For any other faulted obstacle the dog must  be directed to continue on course.

Golf is scored points then time. Lowest number of points wins. In case of a tie, the lowest time wins.

Any rules basis can be used to determine what performance constitutes a fault.

This is a fine game for league play and can be integrated nicely into sequencing challenges for group classes.

Hole #1 Par 1

Hole #2 Par 1

Hole #3 Par 1

Hole #4 Par 1

Hole #5 Par 1

No Rest for the Wicked

So… I’m home for a couple days. I’ve just returned from central IL where I led six days of seminar followed by three days of judging. Add to that two travel days… I’m pretty much exhausted. But, like the song says, there’s no rest for the wicked. Early tomorrow morning I’m off for Denver, CO for a two-day handling clinic and two days of judging. I’m home long enough to launder my clothes.

The NADAC trial I judged this past weekend was a lot of fun. I have a number of observations to share about the venue; entirely positive I assure you. But right now I’m running around like a blind dog in a meat house trying to get ready to get out the door in the morning. I expect that some leisurely time sitting around in the airport will allow me to catch up with my notes. Stay tuned.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

What is this fellow’s name? And, with what letter of the alphabet is he uniquely associated these days?

First correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the June Jokers Notebook.

BLOG618

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – June 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special05” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

5 Responses to “Golf”

  1. Jeff Whitsitt Says:

    Gordon Ramsay, F

    • budhouston Says:

      Gordon Ramsay and the letter “F” is the correct answer. Both you and Ronni will get a copy of the June Notebook.

      Regards,
      Bud

  2. Ronni Says:

    Gordon Ramsay
    F

  3. Mike Fritz Says:

    Thanks Bud for sharing the golf game with us. I am going to try it with my agility class and I will let you know how it goes.
    Not to be greedy but what do we do about holes 6-9?
    Thanks,
    Mike

    • budhouston Says:

      Hey Mike. Well, you’d probably really want 18 holes unless you’re more accustomed to playing on the executive 9!

      Fact is, we only had an hour to play the game. With that in mind. Golf would be a fun format for a club agility outing where you could squeeze in the whole 18 holes.

      Regards,
      Bud

Comments are closed.


