Gamblers ~ “What’s My Line” Variation

This game is a combination of “What’s My Line” and Gamblers. As in gamblers the objectives are first to:  a) accumulate points and then b) to attempt the distance challenge.

Point accumulation shall be conducted as in the game “What’s My Line”. The dog may continue to accumulate points so long as no obstacle is repeated. If an obstacle is repeated the judge will indicate that the handler must direct the dog on to attempt the distance challenge.

Obstacles in the gamble may be attempted during point accumulation. However there shall be prohibition against doing two gamble obstacles one after the other as in the traditional gamblers game. Doing two gamble obstacles (one after the other) during point accumulation will negate any gamble bonus.

Please note that once the handler begins the distance challenge it doesn’t matter that obstacles in the gamble were performed during point accumulation. There will be no penalty or downside for repeating an obstacle during the gamble that was already performed during point accumulation.

45 seconds are allowed both for point accumulation and for performance of the distance challenge. There will be no whistle differentiating the two periods.

However, the handler must indicate his start of the distance challenge by declaring: “Gamble!” This means that the handler has exhausted his “What’s My Line” strategy and intends to begin the distance challenge.

The schedule of points shall be:

  • 1 point ~ Jumps
  • 3 points  ~ tire and tunnels
  • 5 points ~ contact obstacles
  • 7 points ~ weave poles

If an obstacle is faulted no points can be earned for that obstacle; and the obstacle may not be repeated under the “What’s My Line” rules. There will be no faults for the weave poles. However, the weave poles must be repeated in their entirety in order to earn the points.

Qualifying

Gamblers ~ What’s My Line Variation is scored points, then time. Time is a tie-breaker only. The gamble bonus can only be earned if the dog gets to the table in 45 seconds, or less.

  • Novice/GI 18 points in point accumulation plus successful completion of the gamble
  • Advanced/Masters/GIII 21 points in point accumulation plus successful completion of the gamble

Strategy and Discussion

Clearly a greedy man’s strategy is key to winning. The handler should earn as many points as possible in point accumulation… taking care to earn the minimum amount to qualify and a bit more for the win.

The 45 second time limit was based on a 30 second point accumulation plus 15 seconds for performance of the distance challenge. So the handler strategist is faced with finding a decent strategy that accumulates as many points as possible in the true “What’s My Line” fashion, without taking so much time getting the job done that not enough time will be left for a performance of the distance challenge.

Dog Days

It’s been a hot weekend, to be sure. I didn’t get to all the chores I have to do. But then, I never really do. On Saturday I did a bit of canning. I put up 8 quarts of tomatoes. And today I canned 3 quarts of Escabeche. Aside from jalapenos I’m also growing a purple cauliflower which I included in the mix. I have no idea how hot are the jalapenos. But I’m hoping that they heat up everything after they sit for awhile.

Today we had six hours of weekend workshop. A heck of a thunderstorm hammered us about 11:00 am. And aside from about an 8″ deluge in under an hour, things cooled down quite a bit in what has been a brutally hot summer.

Next weekend is Kory’s debut in agility competition. I’m really looking forward to it. And I find myself feeling no pressure at all. Aside from the fact that I only put him up on 24″ jumps about a week ago he’s doing masters level work in general. I suppose this week I’ll just focus on making sure he understands all the specialty jumps, like the spread hurdles, the broad jump, and the panel jump.

I’ll let ya’ll know how it goes.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

Two members of the cast of the television series Taxi also were in the cast of a movie that earned five academy awards (including best picture). Who were the cast members from Taxi? What was the name of the movie?

First correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the June Jokers Notebook.

BLOG631

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – June 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special05” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

3 Responses to “Gamblers ~ “What’s My Line” Variation”

  1. Deb Chvilick Says:

    One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Danny DeVito & Chrisopher Lloyd

  2. Debbie Says:

    Hi Bud
    One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Danny Devito and Christopher Lloyd

    Debbie

  3. Jan Sund Says:

    I just watched One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, and I believe it won several Oscars. Danny DeVito and Christopher Lloyd were both in it.

Comments are closed.


