Issue Zero

Okay, I’ve been working on the August Jokers Notebook. And it might not be published in early August at all. I’m writing all new content at a stunning pace of about 7 pages a day. Now you would think that it should be Issue #6 since I’ve done five already; but since it is an issue dedicated to foundation training, it really needs to supersede all the other issues. So I believe I’m going to make this Issue Zero so that it will give me a proper numerical sort.

A lot of what I’m writing is very granular step-by-step training instructions for skills that I believe are important for a great distance working agility dog. And I’m focusing on those things you might teach a young pup. And since I’ve so recently gone through this training with my boy Kory, much of it is fresh in my mind.

Don’t Worry ~ Be Yappy!

I’m very pleased with Kory’s agility debut this weekend past. He gave me some great work at a distance and moved in stunning fashion. He didn’t so much as tic a bar all weekend, and he just killed the weave poles any time they were presented in his path.

We went 1 for 4 qualifying and came away from the weekend with a short list for study and practice:

  • Teeter ~ At Dayton Dog Training Club the teeter is a very light and fast aluminum thing. It drops with a tinny bang and quivers with whip response.On the first day Kory gave me a fly-off glorious enough to elicit a gasp from spectators. On the second day it dropped hard with an uncomfortable clank with him under control of the plank. After dismounting he turned around and looked back at it with a puzzled expression.Unfortunately he gave me a 3-legged on & off dogwalk refusal in that class on Sunday; apparently transferring his teeter confusion to the dogwalk ramp.
  • Table ~ In the standard class on the first day Kory had to circle around the table to study it before getting on. The second day he got up on it with a hesitation that was more like blinking. The judge might not have seen it; but I did.
  • Double ~ Kory ran around it three times in the standard class on Saturday without recognition. It was the last obstacle and immediately following the teeter where he’d just done the fly-off. I reckon he was a bit rattled.The double also had a look different that what he’s seen before. In my own training center I don’t use bottom bars. And we don’t do cross bars. I’ll have to take care this week to give him a good look at these wicked presentations which are quite common out in the world.In jumpers on Saturday Kory ran past the double once in a moment of true refusal. But I drew him around to present again…and he was up and over. This was our one qualifying run of the weekend.

    Kory did the double both tries on Sunday without flinching.

  • Advanced Around the Clock ~ Kory ran by a jump in Sunday’s Jumpers class. I admit that I was at a great distance from him in a very technical and advanced around the clock presentation. I didn’t try to correct. And he finished the course superbly.

Okay, we qualified 1 in 4 for the weekend; and I’d say not in bad fashion for a dog’s first outing. I have a short list to work on. I’ll be out in the building this week attending to training details. We’re entered in trials in the two weekends up and coming.

I’m really thrilled about Kory’s relentless work ethic and his ability to tune out the distractions and noise around him. It’s been like five years since I’ve had an active agility partner with this kind of drive and solid training foundation. I’m just so happy to be in the world again with a dog that’ll ultimately make me look smarter than I really am.

Kory’s contacts… aside from the teeter on the weekend were superb. In class this past week I toyed with the correction concept… taking him off the course when he wouldn’t assume or hold his 2o2o contact performances. The rude correction (for all that it looks like I’m being a clever dog trainer) had no influence on his performance at all. So I’m betting you won’t catch me doing that again.

* * *

Marsha, by the way ran our girl Hazard on the weekend. She did an excellent job, getting the double-Q and about 50 MACh points on Sunday. I’ll be running Haz the next two weekends; and I’m hoping to do as well.

Hazard is a “pure for motion” dog. This is a little problematic for me right now because I’ve been nursing a sprained knee (and both are a bit arthritic). But I’m working really hard at rehabbing it this week; and we’ll just see how it goes.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

How many gallons of chelated copper product (used to treat filamentous and planktonic algae); rated 1 gallon for 500,000 gallons of pond water would be required to treat a pond of about 1/4 acre with a depth of about 18 feet?

First correct answer, posted as a reply to this blog post, wins a free copy of the June Jokers Notebook.

BLOG636

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training Plan – June 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special05” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

6 Responses to “Issue Zero”

  1. Diane Gray Says:

    2.93 gallons of treatment for pond. How many decimals do you want?

    • budhouston Says:

      Okay… just a cotton-picking minute! Are you saying there’s roughly 1.5 million gallons of water? Share your math with us.

      It strikes me too that there’s no adjustment of the slope from shore to the deepest part of the pond; and so I’m guessing that the calculation should be based on a segment of a sphere (and not particularly assuming that the surface of the water would be the center/diameter of the sphere).

      Regards,
      Bud

  2. Teri Says:

    Congratulations on Kory’s debut!

  3. mark & ebby Says:

    Bud – A shere is too tough. I used a cone with a 118 foot diameter (1/4 acre area) and a depth of 18 feet (height of cone).
    Volume of cone = pie x 59^2 x 18/3
    Volume of cone = 65,582 ft^3
    Conversion 1 ft^3=7.48 gallons
    pond contains 490, 553 gallons
    Use one gallon of treatment

  4. Jon Says:

    Bud,

    See

    http://ohioline.osu.edu/a-fact/0002.html

    If the maximum depth is 18 ft then assume average depth is somewhere between 9 to 15 feet depending on the slope of the bottom of the pond. Using a 12 foot average depth and multiplying by 1/4 acre , you’ll have 3 acre-ft of water. Conversion factor of 325851 gallons/acre-ft. You have approximately a million gallons of water, so two gallons of solution.

    Jon

  5. katie Says:

    Congratulations on Kory’s debut! And congrats to Marsha and Hazard, too.

Comments are closed.


