Back among the living

John Lennon said “Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.”

On my way to a well choreographed few days full of plans and aspirations I managed to lose control of my Suburban in a bit of black ice in Indianapolis. I drove off the road, rolled over a time or two, and found myself an unplanned four-day stay at Methodist Memorial Hospital. It messed up my planning something terrible.

I had a concussion complete with a few crude stitches. I’m home again; bent a bit, but unbroken. I am thankful for seatbelts; and that I did not have dogs in the car with me. I discovered that everything in the back of an open truck or van becomes a missile.

Forgive me while I take a few days to heal my brain. Right now it seems the muscle most easily fatigued each day.

BLOG685

19 Responses to “Back among the living”

  1. Renee Says:

    I’m very glad you are home! Dave and I were really worried! Still are! You better plan on taking it easy for a little while.Looking forward to seeing!

  2. Mary BonDurant Says:

    Bud,
    I am so thankful that you are alive & didn’t have the dogs with you. Please take time to heal& rest. Keepn you in my prayers.
    Mary , Bob & Toby

  3. Alisha Says:

    Bud,
    We had no idea! I had not even noticed your vehicle was missing. Goes to show how good a neighbor I am! Ha ha ha!! Glad you were not hurt more seriously! Let us know if you need anything!

  4. Kerry Wonders Says:

    Bud –

    Wow, what a bad accident! Glad to hear you are okay and on the mend. It was good to see you at the December trial. You had great courses and kept the day moving nicely. Get well soon and take care!

  5. Adrienne Says:

    Holy geebers! That does *not* look good. Rest up, heal up. And thank all that is holy that the dogs weren’t in that mess.

  6. Bernadette Says:

    Get better soon! You were so lucky and thanks for reminding me about loose things in the car. Take care and rest.

  7. Peggy Rodinak Says:

    Bud,
    Very glad to hear that you are starting to mend. Everything else in life can wait, until you body is back up to par. Seat belts are great at saving lives but can leave some extra areas of soreness. (My husband knows this first hand.)
    Get well and let your wife and dogs take care of you for a while.

  8. Teresa Says:

    Take care, Bud! We’re glad you’re home and resting. Feel better!

  9. beth (steve) murray Says:

    Hi Bud,
    So glad to hear you’re home!
    It’s amazing to see that you “walked away” from that car. I get lax about seatbelting my dogs, but this is another reminder to take the time.
    Rest up and watch the snow pile up.
    Take care, both of you!
    Beth

  10. Devora Says:

    Feel Better Bud!! We’re very glad you are back among the living! Scary stuff,..

  11. agilitygambler@charter.net Says:

    Bud,

    Glad to hear you are on the mend and made it out of the accident alive. Take Care

    Joan Wieckowski

  12. Georgette Says:

    Bud, I am glad you survived that accident. From the look of the car, that in itself is a miracle. Take time and rest, in the long run it will be worth all that rest. Georgette and Grace

  13. ann stetson Says:

    Glad you had on your seatbelt, that Chevy makes good airbags, and you weren’t driving a Smart car. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  14. Diane Bader Says:

    You sure must hold up well. I heard you were a tough guy- you make people cry you know?? My god I saw that vehicle and the only thing that reminded me it was yours is it is white. Thank god you are ok. You sure don’t want anyone fussing over you do you??? I heard you had an accident and was fine. I think not! I told you we don’t bounce like we used to. And thank god the dogs were not with you. You take very good care of yourself and don’t make Marsha nuts. No more modeling for you either with those stitches huh?? Saw Deb A. and she said I needed to look at the truck. Take care and what are you doing in March???

  15. Sande Says:

    Bud,
    Sure glad you weren’t hurt badly! Vehicles are replacable – people are not! Thank God you had your seatbelt on and none of your dogs were with you! Glad you’re on the mend and will be back in the swing of things when you are ready. Jack, Sande & the Irish Setter girls

  16. Ronni Says:

    Yikes! I’m glad it wasn’t worse than it was.

    Do take the time to mend…but maybe I should state it in obedience parlance: Heal! Down. Stay. Good Bud.

  17. Bob Newman Says:

    Bud—

    Seems like really extreme measures to investigate the chaos theory—

    Come to think of it—Chaos might be a good name for the next pup.

    There would be Chaos, Hazard, Tempest, and Kory.

    Prounounce Kory like “Gory”—and, faced with such a formidable force, the competition will preemptively acquiesce . . .

    Take care of the noggin and associated parts—

    Bob N.

  18. Sandy Says:

    So glad you’re OK! Sending healing thoughts your way!

Comments are closed.


