Hiatus

I’ve been working like a dog. That’s a curious expression, eh? No dog I’ve ever had did a lot of very hard work. Indeed most every one of them had more of a talent for napping than any particular labor.

I haven’t written to my web log in quite awhile. I think this is the longest hiatus that I’ve taken. It’s not that I haven’t had things to say or to share. It’s just that the blog thing hasn’t risen to a level in my priorities list to warrant my effort. In other words, it becomes an indulgence for which I have to set aside something that really needs to be done.

It’s not that it’s any less of an indulgence right now. I just wanted to take a moment to let everyone know that I’m alive.

The business of the TDAA has kept me busy. We’re making gradual headway bringing under control systems that were designed for a small army of volunteers to conduct; and without the services of the small army.

Superbowl Sunday

We’ll start the day tomorrow with a run of Ralphie’s Run ‘til You Drop. The design I have here has several hidden objectives. They’ll have to remain hidden for now.

This was our Thursday night set-up. The set of equipment spawned about a dozen unique exercises. The numbered sequence I’ve put here Features several perilous options. Clearly I’m always looking to teach my students compelling and timely handling skills.

 This wasn’t so long ago. The drawing creates an interesting illusion that I’ve moved equipment around quite a bit. But it’s a cheat. Can you spot it?

All Done!

You didn’t get much from me today except to share a couple drawings. I’ll usually share a bit of prose that is inspired at the confluence between artistry and ego. But today I’ll leave you with just the pictures.

It is funny looking at a course map. It’s almost impossible to trace the dog’s path without the antics of the handler and the touchy response of the invisible dog superimposed on the imagination. I wonder sometimes what it is that you see.

Anyhow, almost always my web log reflects what I’m working on at any given time. Today is no different. I’m installing software on a new computer. And, I have to make sure everything I use for my web log is installed… and it works. Do you know what all I use? I use Microsoft Word; the Clean Run Course Designer; Photoshop CS2; and of course Internet Explorer. I’ve been at it all day long.

BLOG692

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. Check out my latest publication the Jokers Notebook ~ Dog Agility Distance Training ~ Issue #0 ~ August 2010 available on the Country Dream Web Store: http://countrydream.wordpress.com/web-store/ . Readers of my web log get a discount: Enter “special00” in the box for the discount code. And that will take $5.00 off the price of the order.

7 Responses to “Hiatus”

  1. Courtenay Says:

    IE? Really? eeeep. IE’s security scares the crap out of me.

    • budhouston Says:

      Yeah, I agree. I don’t much like IE. I’ll install Mozilla Firefox when I get around to it. I actually moved the contents of my dowload folder to the new computer which contains about everything I’ve downloaded for a couple years.

      Changing computers is a pain. I have yet to install printers; update Norton’s 360. Tho I did get FTPx moved. Dang.

      Regards,
      Bud

      Bud

      • Courtenay Says:

        Windows is such a PITA. I’ve been using chrome for some while now, and love it. Way faster than Firefox. Changing computers on ubuntu isn’t bad at all.. 😉

    • Judy Casserberg Says:

      Love Foxfire – I think that it is the logo!

  2. Mark and Ebby Says:

    Sounds like you fit the phrase “An Army of One”

    • budhouston Says:

      It’s an army of two actually. Marsha’s working about 14 hours a day. Mostly what we’re going to try to do is take systems of beastly design and make them both efficient and trustworthy.

      Regards,
      Bud

      • Judy Casserberg Says:

        That’s what happens when thing grow like Topsy without a long range design and plan. I have to stop every 18 months or so and look at what I have done business wise and if I am shooting myself in the foot or actually building so it makes sense. I have to admit that I do have a lot of icons on my desktop – I do like logos and cute pictures. But I for one am beginning to see light at the end of your tunnel – on-line registering YES!!!!

Comments are closed.


