Agility Class in Springfield, IL

I got to stop over in Springfield, IL on my way to a four day seminar in Peoria, IL. I dropped in on an agility class led by Deb Auer and got to put my boy Kory on equipment in the class. He was a little gimpy from a family walk we took on Tuesday; and I’m monitoring his recovery.

We got to start with this bit. It was kind of fun; I got to proof my “named obstacles”  training with Kory a bit, on both of the discrimination approaches (#2 and #6). The tougher consideration in this sequence is the “blind approach” dictated 270 from #4 to #5; followed by a threadle-270 from #7 to #8. The difficulty, of course, is how the handler gets from the “managed approach” (that’s what a blind approach really is… an insistence by the course designer that the handler step in and micro-manage the dog because the course no thoughtful flowing romp for the dog)… to the threadle… probably with the dog on the wrong side.

Several of the other guys in this class treated us to a display of wrong-course faults on the discrimination challenges. It would have been inappropriate for me to leap out of my seat to show the obvious thing. So I just sat there and enjoyed the view. I’m considering putting up something similar in the Peoria seminar.

This sequence reminds me that I want to work on a running release from the A‑frame 2o2o. What that really means is that I want to run to a new position and trust my dog to hold the position until released.

Phenomenon

Okay, a mouse has been getting into my seedling flats in the basement. He was especially fond of digging up the corn kernels. I know it’s unusual to seed corn in flats. But I find that it gives my plants about 10″ of head-start over just putting them into the ground.

Anyhow, I had the mouse problem pretty well figured out. I set the flats into a couple of deep plastic bins and put the bins under my grow-light. The sides are just too darned steep for the mouse to get in.

When I returned from Barto I discovered that the mouse had once again robbed a bunch of my corn seeds out of the seed flats. But that of course would be impossible because, like I said, the sides of the plastic bins are too steep and high for the mouse to get in and get out.

And then… on Tuesday evening I actually caught the little creepy critter in the act. When he saw me coming he tried to jump out of the bin… but the sides are too steep and too high. So, I took him outside and released him into a pile of wood and wished for him to freeze his little rat butt off in the night.

So as it turns out, and the only logical explanation is that the mouse had been living in the seedling flats. I have the seed cartons arranged in a larger liner carton (that catches water… and apparently mice). Reminds me of a movie I saw once.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

What was the name of the movie I referred to above? Please explain what the mouse has to do with that movie.

BLOG704

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. OMG! My web store is up and running. I still have a lot of work to do there. I’ll be closing down the eJunkie presentation; and we’ll be doing business again with the CFWebstore.

4 Responses to “Agility Class in Springfield, IL”

  1. Mary BonDurant Says:

    Dear Bud,

    We were glad to have you but dissappointed that you did’nt stick around for the best class Deb has. You would have found that Deb’s #1 class rocked on this exercise!!! Also Toby wanted me to pass along that he was sad you didn’t stick around and see him rock!! Hope you drop in again and hang out with Deb’s #1 class next time. =)
    Mary BonDurant

  2. Mark and Ebby Says:

    Phenomenon – John T. tried harder and harder to keep the rabbit out of his garden, only to find out he had the rabbit trapped in. Maybe your mouse saw the movie….

  3. deborahauer Says:

    Bud – I’ll echo Mary’s invitation and say you and Kory are welcome to drop in any time your path takes you through central Illinois.

    Deb

Comments are closed.


