Back to Barto

I finished the day Saturday with another Q and 1st place finish in Pairs. I paired Kory with another BC run by a pleasant young lady who is apparently also a pretty good dog trainer. I went to my hotel figuring that nothing could go wrong for the weekend no matter how things turned out on Sunday. As it would turn out, it was a good thing that I was content. I’m not going to share the blow-by-blow with you. But I will say that I had that very technical Starters Snooker course nailed… but Kory dropped a bar in the #4 combination.

I barely got any sleep on Saturday night. Chucking a couple tons of firewood had inflamed my shoulder so that I was treated through the night with a searing pain that prevented me from actually sleeping. I guess I’m just a woos when it comes to searing pain.

OBTW in the pairs class Kory missed the down contact of the dogwalk. The game is scored Time+Faults so it really made very little difference except that I would prefer that he assume and hold his 2o2o until released.

Flutterby

This is a dream sequence that I will probably incorporate into course work. It keeps drawing itself in my head… and it won’t go away until I put it on paper. So there.

Other

This is a sequence that was pressed into my hand by a seminar student. She noted the difficulty of holding the gently curving sequence after the #11 pipe tunnel. I understand that problem, especially if the handler must micro-manage the turn into the tunnel off the A-frame. On Saturday I did set up a similar turn (front contact to tunnel) in the seminar in Peoria just to talk about the technical Tandem.

What most fascinated me about the course map was trying to guess what venue it must represent. I’m still guessing.

A Talk With Jesus

Well, maybe I only talked to Peter. 1 Peter 5:5 God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.

I was thinking about my disappointment-induced refusal in the Grand Prix qualifier on Saturday. This was a moment of prideful petulance which was immediately punished by a higher power (judge Scott Chamberlain in this case). Kory pushed out of his 2o2o before I actually released him. So as I flat-footed the approach to the final jump in childish pique, Kory spun in front of the jump and earned a refusal.

Let me share a little “humble” thinking with you. It is not my habit to visit rage or scorn on my dog for performance issues. I’ll typically accept what happens in competition as information and take that back to my training program for whatever remediation is necessary.

To tell you the truth, something else occurs to me now. I have this longer range vision that I will fade the 2o2o to a running contact (or contact-in-motion in any case). As “dog trainer” I find a terrible contradiction if I correct my dog in any fashion right now for a performance or behavior that I’ll set as my criteria for performance later on. Do you follow this logic?

Whether it’s a matter of me behaving terribly bad by telling my dog “no” or yelling at him, or picking him up and dragging him off the course… or even if I simply have a moment of childish pique; all of that works against my longer term training and performance ambitions.

Bud’s Google-proof Trivia Contest

A multiple-choice; aren’t you lucky. Proverbs says “Pride goeth before… “

a. destruction,

b. the fall,

c. lunch

Okay cheater… don’t you dare Google this! God is watching for sure.

BLOG705

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston: BudHouston@hughes.net. OMG! My web store is up and running. I still have a lot of work to do there. I’ll be closing down the eJunkie presentation; and we’ll be doing business again with the CFWebstore.

8 Responses to “Back to Barto”

  1. Laura, Lance, and Vito Says:

    The fall. And no multiple choice needed 🙂

  2. Michelle Says:

    Bud, is there a way to copy the courses in your blog into CRCD?
    I can get a jpeg to open but so far cannot transfer to CRCD.

  3. Mark and Ebby Says:

    Bud;
    I like your flutter course. Great for tandem practice, distance work, or used as a minuet. I will be trying that one.
    You seem to do your best work when you are asleep.
    Thanks, Mark

  4. Peggy Rodinak Says:

    I think I look at a trial run a little differently than most. I view a trial as a test. Therefore I don’t allow for any corrections. A trial is for giving me information on how well we are doing our “jobs”.
    I have on occasion when we were very green, left the course with the dog in the middle of the “run” because the dog was so distracted with everything else that he was not safe on the equipment. The judge told me I could finish the course but I really saw no purpose in that.

  5. Marsha Says:

    BEFORE THE FALL. One of the few things I remember from bible school

    • budhouston Says:

      Proverbs 16:18 Pride goeth before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.

      I believe I don’t have a winner on this one. This is one of those interesting scriptures that everyone misremembers.

      Bud

  6. Sonay Smith Says:

    Destruction! Too easy!
    I love the flutter course, gave me a challenge!

Comments are closed.


