Houston.Bud@gmail.com

It is painful to change your email address. But I’m endeavoring to do so right now. Since I was a wee lad I’ve allowed my email address to be dictated by my ISP. As I sloughed through a variety of providers over the years (AOL, Compuserve, Earthlink, Hughenet) I’ve been battered around with having to change email addresses from time to time.

I knew quite a few years ago that I should get an online email service like Yahoo or Gmail, but just never got around to it. The good thing about having an IMAP is that you can change your ISP and you don’t have to change your email identity.

So there it is… Houston.Bud@gmail.com. I have boatloads of work to do over the next few days just making sure that all official business that identifies me by my email address is switched over to this new address; never mind my social network of family, friends, accomplices and associates.

Update on Tempest

Tempest is coming along super. I shared with you my worst fears at a moment that my emotions were rubbed raw by watching our pup through a horrible cluster of seizures. The treatment itself was rough going. He’s now on maintenance meds that have him unsteady on his feet. It appears though that he’s rebounding nicely. And he seems not to be traumatized by events.

I’m sure that all the healing thoughts and prayers that came our way pulled Tempest through. It’s not really over. We’ll just call it … a new beginning.

The Roundabout Jump

The roundabout 360° turn (from jump #3 to #4) is something that I typically have to argue for with course reviewers. They don’t all understand the grace and simplicity of the challenge.

The challenge is elevated a bit in this simple sequence as we’ve offered the pipe tunnel as an option after jump #2. If the handler doesn’t vee-set the approach he certainly must have an answer to convincing the dog into the turn with a compelling pipe tunnel just ahead.

The Scientific Test

If the handler is forward of the dog a Front Cross might be the simple thing to do. But don’t you know a lot of handlers have a pretty terrible Front Cross. What I like to do here is conduct a scientific test. What would the dog do if the handler simply turns away after jump #2? Please note the elements of the scientific test: The handler begins with dog on left; the handler allows the dog to get up into the air before announcing the turn… but will rotate neatly in the moment before the dog hits the ground; the turn, or rotation, will be toward the dog… a counter-rotation.

It’s hard to say what the dog will actually do. You don’t get results from “stating” the scientific test. Results must come from “conducting” the scientific test. In any case, the picture I have in my mind is this one here… the dog will turn neatly and come alongside the handler.

The PB&J in the Roundabout

The handling I like for the roundabout is a simple Post & Blind transition. I recognize that you aren’t supposed to be able to do a Blind Cross with a Border Collie. So you’ll just have to humor me on this point. The timing cue for the Blind Cross, by the way, is the dog hitting the plane of the jump. Only at that point will we have an approach to the #4 performance of the jump.

I’ve drawn the timing line on the plane of the jump to be perfectly clear.

OTOH If  Behind

On the other hand, if the handler is behind the dog in this sequence… it’ll be like throwing cards into a hat on a windy day.

Perhaps the handler can pre-cue the intention to turn on the way to jump #2. But if we get the turn it’s a fairly simple matter. The handler draws on Post, and turns away with the Tandem. Note that the handler shouldn’t actually have to circle the jump with the dog. The handler should layer the jump, and then step up for a Front Cross.

Another TDAA Course Review

You’ll have to bear with me on this. It’s not really important that I do a video review of a TDAA course; and it certainly doesn’t have to be shared in a public forum. I’m trying to learn my editing tools as I have other projects in mind down the road. Since a lot of work and study went into the production I’ll share it with you… if you have the bandwidth.

http://youtu.be/CrXpPuK4SXs

Blog793

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston BudHouston@hughes.net. The Country Dream web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You know… I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an embarrassingly inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

3 Responses to “Houston.Bud@gmail.com”

  1. Karen Bales Says:

    I just saw the post about Tempest and am so sorry that this is happening. My dogs too are very much a part of me and if something happens to them, it is painful for me. I’m glad to hear that things are going better and hope that they continue.

    Best wishes to you and Marsha.

    Okay is it showing on this screen?

  2. betty jaco Says:

    Cool idea on the video course review. Glad Tempest is holding his own.

  3. deborahauer Says:

    Bud – Glad to hear that they have found appropriate treatment for Tempest. My first Cocker had seizures and, like others who have posted, I know, at least a little, what you and Marsha are going through.

    We have three old dogs in the house, and I know there will be a young dog in our future – probably within three years or so. I first heard about seizure disorders in BC’s 11 years ago. What you are going through really worries me – for the breed in general, and how hard it might be for anyone to get a BC puppy without this, or some other, health concern – hips, eyes and elbows all seem to be health issues for BC’s.

    And, yes, I’ve pretty much decided that my next dog will be a BC – but I’ve had my eye on a nice little Cardigan that could be the breed after that….

Comments are closed.


