CPE Adventure

Somebody sent me the following course, a non-traditional CPE Gamble course. Apparently the course skunked (nearly?) the field.

What the judge required was for the handler to put the dog into the pipe tunnel entry opposite the side he (the handler) was working. The person who sent me the course said that it was very hard to send the dog across the face of the tunnel to get into the far end. I imagine that is so.

I looked at the problem more like this… there’s a real opportunity to send the dog out around to the back-side of the tunnel and call him back through. If the handler can get that bit done it will be hard enough convincing the dog to get away coming out of the tunnel to make an orderly approach to the weave poles… so the handler will have to back up a step or two to bend the dog sharply as he makes his exit from the tunnel. There’s only about 16′ of real estate (in a straight line) to work with. I find it interesting that the spacing guidelines observed in a standard class aren’t necessarily accommodated in a distance challenge. But that’s the way it goes sometimes.

On the Calendar

I have a number of fun events on the calendar. Thought I’d give a shout out for a seminar I’m doing for Ohio Airdogs in North Royalton, OH on April 21 and 22. That’s up around Cleveland, I believe.

For information on the clinic you can probably visit the Ohio Airdogs website at: http://ohiodockdivingairdogs.com/

I heard there’s a rumor in the area that I’m a small dog handler. That’s funny. I guess I’ll have to bring Kory, my leggy 22″ BC boy up there with me. I’m looking forward to it.

Blog812

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The Country Dream web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You know… I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an embarrassingly inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

One Response to “CPE Adventure”

  1. Sandy Smith Says:

    Very interesting. I would be interested in attending the seminar but the Air Dogs site just has it on their calendar, that is where it says you started with Shelties in Agility, no other info, like price and what we would be learning. I miss seeing you and Kory. We have some trials coming up in the next couple of months. We, Maverick and Sandy, are now in Masters pairs. I am looking forward to another wonderful high energy year in agility with Mav and will be on the lookout for a couple of teams to play with. I would like to do 1-2 DAM events this year.

Comments are closed.


