sweet dreams and flying machines

I’ve been obsessing a little bit on training sequences from around the world. I got this bit from a website in Argentina, Criadero Canino Sweetness Dreams.

You’ll have to bear with me a moment. We lost our boy Tempest yesterday after a cluster of epileptic seizures. He wasn’t two years old yet. The epilepsy showed itself only two months ago. But it feels like it’s been a year. Our lives have been turned upside down.

And now it’s over.

The name of the agility group down in Argentina struck me this morning and reminded me immediately of a James Taylor song, where he sings “sweet dreams and flying machines in pieces on the ground”. I went out and looked for it on YouTube and had a good cry for our sweet lost boy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOIo4lEpsPY

Blog815

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The Country Dream web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You know… I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an embarrassingly inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

16 Responses to “sweet dreams and flying machines”

  1. Sandy Cody Says:

    So sorry for your loss…
    They will always be in our hearts.

  2. Ilze Says:

    Bud, my condolences to you and Marsha. Having lost two dogs this past year (my dear sweet Zuzu and then my little attitude guy, Fonzie) I know it’s a sad,sad time and it will be that way for a time. I hope your sadness will be gentle. Ilze

  3. Ronni Says:

    I’m so sorry for your heartbreak…

    Ronni

  4. Lila Says:

    So sorry to hear about Tempest. My condolences to you and Marsha.

  5. Kennedy Says:

    So very sorry to hear about your pup. That’s way too soon and way too much for such a young life. May he rest in peaxe.

  6. Christine Says:

    Thanks for sharing your loss with us. We are remembering and mourning with you.

  7. Sandi McKenzie Says:

    Sorry to hear about your pup. It is never easy, but is especially difficult when they so young. Our thoughts are with you.

  8. deborahauer Says:

    Bud. Dave and I are so sorry for you and Marsha. You’re in our thoughts.

  9. katie Says:

    Now cracks a noble heart. Good-night, sweet prince;
    And flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.

  10. Carole Says:

    I’m sending my sympathies to you, along with a virtual hug of my dogs to you and your family. It is always so hard to lose a special friend.

  11. Michelle Says:

    So sorry Bud and Marsha. I know what it feels like. Seizure dogs are tough. I’m sorry you had to go through this. I know it hurts and I am so sorry.

  12. betty jaco Says:

    I am so sorry about Tempest. I keep typing and deleting trying to say the thoughts in my heart at this sorrowful place in your life…. Please know that you both are in my thoughts, and my heart.

  13. Anne More Says:

    I will repeat what a friend told me once: I have loved and lost many dogs in my life. This much I know — it was a good life Tempest lived with you and Marsha. My deepest sympathies to both of you.

  14. Linda Knowles Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss of Tempest. That is so sad to lose a dog so very young whose career was ahead. Thinking of you and Marsha.

  15. Andrea Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss … what a journey you had with him …

  16. Linda Hinsman Says:

    Bud and Marsha – Will, Kara and I are so sorry for your loss. We have had two epileptic border collies and know the anguish and suffering epilepsy causes all too well. Both of our dogs had cluster seizures, and all of the medication we tried ultimately made no difference. Epilepsy is horrible. Our condolences to you both.

Comments are closed.


