League Standard

This week’s league play featured a standard course, illustrated below.

Briefing

Dogs registered with the TDAA are eligible to earn a qualifying score for titling. Dogs will be judged using the rules for performance respective to their level. A clean run is required to qualify. Performance on the table is handler’s choice.

Standard course times will be:

Games I
4″ / 8 “
103
 
12′′ / 16′′
  97
Games II
4″ / 8 “
  91
12′′ / 16′′
  82
Games III
4″ / 8 “
  74
 
12′′ / 16′′
  67

Plus 5 seconds for the performance of the table.

Discussion

The standard course times seem like a real give-away. However, we’re using the rates of travel from the TDAA (on the high end of the range). Because of the big-dog spacing between obstacles dogs manage to raise their YPS; and it is not so degraded by the contact obstacles and weave poles as in the tighter-spaced TDAA courses.

I borrowed the course concept from a course I was reviewing from the TDAA.

TDAA Course Reviews ~ Compression Tutorial

This is something for the TDAA’s course design college (a regular theme in my blog). The purpose of the entries for the course design college is to make a training point with as many of our judges as will pay attention all at the same time so I don’t have to keep making the instruction over and over again, one judge at a time.

Compression 1

Compression 2

I wrote these directly to the judges on whose courses the tutorials were based. It was easier to illustrate my teaching point than to try to talk or write my way through them.

All That’s Certain

This has been about my longest hiatus from writing to my blog since I started keeping it. I know that after the loss of our boy Tempest it might seem that I was gloomy and in despair. The truth of the matter is that I’ve been working on our taxes; which is a very complicated matter this year. It’s an annual ritual that retires me to my cave reading over small bits of fading paper.

I do want to say that there was quite an outpouring through Facebook as responses to my blog and personal messages to offer condolences. I have to confess that I did find considerable comfort in the kind wishes and words that came our way.

Thank you everyone who sent a note.

The thing about dog-people, those of us who fill the corners of our lives with dogs… is that we all understand the life and the death of a dog, both in real and practical terms and in terms of the personal triumphs and tragedies that attend. Every one of us knows that grief.

Oh by the way, I’ve been neglecting a lot of stuff as I work on taxes. My email in basket is taking about 50 hits a day and I know I’ll be several weeks digging my way back out. If by any chance I owe you a return reply… please bear with.

From the League Game ~ Workshop Sequences

Blog816

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The Country Dream web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You know… I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an embarrassingly inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

One Response to “League Standard”

  1. 2mindogtrainer Says:

    Passages of a song keep running through my head when I think of Tempest … “I smile to myself, as the tears roll down, ’cause it’s the world I know — oh, it’s the world I know.”

Comments are closed.


