Threadles

A threadle is the ultimate blind or managed approach. When the threadle comes in pairs the course designer is being completely bloody-minded.

I teach that all handling comes from a simple analysis of the dog’s path. The Clean Run Course Designer drew the dog’s path above. Lovely! And if the handler thinks in the same fuzzy and sleepy-dreamy terms then this sequence will be a very tough challenge.

Here I’ve redrawn the dog’s path so that it owns a sharp and linear quality, giving the handler something substantial on which to base his handling. What we know about the single threadle is that the handler will conduct the dog on three lines with two corners. Each corner, as you know, is a specific timing event for the handler.

Because of the combination of threadle upon threadle the handler is further challenged to have dog on left on the approach to jump #2; and, I would think, dog on right for the transitional (red) line.

A Geek Thing to Save Bandwidth

One of the annoying things about watching a YouTube video is that you basically have to reload the darned thing every time you go back to view it. So you’re constantly using up your bandwidth. Furthermore, on the first viewing you’ll get those horrible vid-stutters as the play outraces the download.

A few months ago I went out to find a utility that would allow me to capture and store the YouTube video on my computer. So you pay for the bandwidth only once. And then, being on your computer it will always play seamlessly as though you were watching the teevee or a DVD.

Here’s what I found: http://atube-catcher.dsnetwb.com/video/

This morning I watched a fun movie starring Julie Andrews in a biography of Gertrude Lawrence, filmed in 1968. I went out to see if I could find her song Someone to Watch Over Me on YouTube. Sure enough…

Some One to Watch Over Me

Blog820

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The Country Dream web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You know… I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an embarrassingly inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

8 Responses to “Threadles”

  1. Michelle Says:

    OK Bud,, you know I am preety unsophisticated in my computer/internet knowledge. I didn’t even know I HAD bandwidth…..so, everytime I look at a YouTube video I am clogging up my computer? I thought I was going to the YouTube site and just viewing the content on that site with Quicktime. That’s not correct??
    I don’t save any of the videos, does that make any dofference??

    • budhouston Says:

      Bandwidth is the capacity, measured in bits per second, of your connection to the Internet. Most internet service providers (this includes your smart phones, iPods, and internet enabled computers) will set a ceiling to how much you get to use every month (measured in megabytes/ gigabytes). If you watch a YouTube video you ARE downloading it; however you are not storing it. So, you have to download it every time you watch it; and that is charged against your usage ceiling with your ISP with each viewing. The utility that I use (aTube catcher) allows me to capture the video the first time I watch it. Then I can watch it as many times as I want, even when I’m not connected to the internet.

  2. Michelle Says:

    OK, lot’s of spelling (typing) errors on that post. But you know what I mean 🙂

  3. Michelle Says:

    thanks Bud. Guess I better find out what my limit is.

  4. Linda Knowles Says:

    Good info to know. Thanks Bud.

  5. T.D. Says:

    What does a pair of threadles look like?

  6. T.D. Says:

    Oh duh.. My trainer always uses three jumps for threadles so I thought…..

Comments are closed.


