Music for Dog Agility

What’s the right music for dog agility? Music can express both a mood and a moment in a way that the dull spoken word never can. I reckon the answer isn’t the same for everyone.

I know this is a silly departure from my usual. It’s the weekend though and the beginning of Spring. So go, have fun. Dance.

It came to me finally that I have different music depending on whether I’m training my dog or in competition. So I rummaged through the old musty chests of my eclectic musical interests and I came up with the following; I even went out to YouTube to find links to the music (YouTube is full of good stuff):

When Training the Dog: I’m Beginning to See the Light ~ Duke Ellington; I like this music because it sets a slow deliberate pace, like the very excellent dog trainer, not in a hurry at all. The idea of “I’m Beginning to See the Light” fits right in with what you’re after with your dog, the dawning of understanding as you fit performance to cue. The vocal on the soundtrack is less compelling than the instrumental. But I love the fact that the song was sung and recorded something like 80 years ago.

When in Competition: Minor Swing ~ Django Reinhardt; This is a great piece of music. The inspiring part is this feeling that “I’m supposed to be here!” It is rhythmic, smooth, and competent; exactly what you want in an agility performance. And, the artist is having fun. We can all learn from a guy like Django!

Okay, now it’s your turn. What is your agility music? (If you do Who Let the Dogs Out… you aren’t trying hard enough).

Blog826

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The web store is up and running.  www.dogagility.org/newstore. I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

10 Responses to “Music for Dog Agility”

  1. budhouston Says:

    I apologize to my regular subscribers… who are emailed my blog as originally posted. I failed to put the right link on the Minor Swing, Django Reinhardt. Then I linked to a version that isn’t my favorite (doesn’t have the violin bit). Anyhow, it’s fixed now… you’ll have to link directly to my page to get it.

    Bud

  2. Laurie Says:

    Love this question and can’t wait to see all of the answers. I personally go for a certain beat. Don’t think I am crazy, but my favorite agility song is Holiday by Green Day. It has nothing to do with the words or the meaning (I’m not making any kind of political stand here LOL). I love the beat and the in your face pulse of the music. Reminds me of a great feeling, fast, perfectly timed, in sync agility run!!

  3. Beth Moline Says:

    I don’t know the title of the song for sure, I think it may be “wiggle, wiggle, wiggle” by LMFAO. Love to Zumba to it too, it’s not just for agility anymore,

  4. Beth Moline Says:

    I found the title name. “Sexy and you know it” by LMFAO

  5. my3fundogs Says:

    training: The Impossible Dream sung by Robert Goulet

    training: Build Me Up Buttercup

    Competeting: If I can Dream – Elvis Presely

  6. Cherrie Treber Says:

    I’d like to hear “Bob, The Builder” being played during course changes (We can build it; yes, we can…)

  7. Erica Says:

    I like to play I Gotta Feeling by the Black Eyed Peas on the way to a competition and sing it to my dog (he forgives my voice). If it spontaneously comes on the radio, we know it’s a sign. A happy ditty to start our day.

    Before we go into the ring, if possible I listen to Uprising by Muse to put positive thoughts in my negative head.

  8. Paula Price Says:

    Twistin’ the Night Away – Sam Cook

    (More inspirational than rhythmic) Born to Run – Springsteen

  9. Carolyn Martin Says:

    I think that my training song would be Living on a Pray by Bon Jovi.

  10. Debbie Brewster Says:

    I read this just after a less than grand performance on my part so the song that came to mind was Your Mama Don’t Dance.
    But the song Crabbuckit K-OS would be great for getting you going either in training or competition

Comments are closed.


