Private Camp

This past week I led a private camp here. It was a small group from Cincinnati. And, they were a lot of fun to work train with.

On Wednesday I also had our evening class; and so I put up for them this Steeplechase-style course:

The floor space I used was a bit smaller than usual, what with campers taking extra crating room in the front of the building, and Marsha conducting beginners training in the back. I think I managed to design an interesting course with reasonably generous big dog spacing in about 4800 ft2.

I can’t put up just a “course” without finding a number of interesting sequences in the set of equipment. I had a bit of fun with these.  In the white numbered sequence just about everyone turned their dogs to the left at jump #6; while the turning direction that actually opened up the approach to jump #8 would have to be to the right.

Here’s a bit more for you. I don’t think we got around to running all of the sequences. But it’s better to have too many than too few. I’m actually not bad at just picking out a sequence to run off the top of my head. The downside of doing it that way is that more often than not I don’t capture the sequence that we ran should we want to revisit it at some time in the future. I’ve been recording working sets for something like fifteen years. It’s been handy to use old lesson plans as an active source (most of those are recorded in the pages of The Just For Fun Agility Notebook).

They Can’t all Be Pretty

I spent my evenings for the most part reviewing TDAA courses. I’m nearly caught up (not). I noted on a course that one of the judges designed that the course was all crammed into one side of the field and it didn’t look very pretty. She replied that it was a sacrifice she made for careful nesting and that “they can’t all be pretty.”

I wrote her back that she probably wouldn’t like it much if her hairdresser said the same thing. I know that sounds like an apples and oranges comparison. Courses are a curious kind of art form. Aside from testing the mettle of the dog and handler team the course should give them a fine romp and a memorable experience. And so the course should be served up in an aesthetically pleasing presentation that has balance and visual appeal.

But that’s just me.

Back-Up Bobber

When the bobber bounces so does Kory.

Pocatello Here I Come!

I’ll be heading off for Pocatello, ID early Thursday morning for a three-day seminar. In all my spare time this past week I’ve been sketching out some fun evaluation sequences. I’ll share them with you after I’ve put them up.

Blog827

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The web store is up and running.  www.dogagility.org/newstore. I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

