The Morning Fawn

This morning I took the riding lawn mower down to the lower cabin. When I let myself into the fenced yard something in the grass moved. A young fawn bolted and tried to squeeze through the wire fence. She got herself maybe halfway through the 4″ square and became very stuck.

It was a bit of a puzzle. I quickly realized I couldn’t pull her back through the fence, so I went outside of the fence to help her get through.

As I handled her she bleated very loudly a couple times. Just so you know, it sounds kinda like a goat on steroids. The mother deer showed up, but at a distance of 50 or 60 yards. She circled around, but kept that distance.

The fawn held her legs out stiff, and were actually more difficult to get through the fence than the main part of her body. But I got her out. I carried her away, into a small meadow and let her down. Funny, she didn’t run. Instead she folded up and tried to act invisible, even though I was standing right there.

I left her there, and went down to the pond for a bit and did some landscape work around the dock. When I went back up to the cabin the fawn was gone. I presume mom came in and walked her out of there.

I’m sorry I didn’t take my droid with me. I would have liked to get a picture.

An Interesting Sequence

Last night was my last public weekly class in my own training center. After more than twenty years of teaching weekly classes we are moving on to something new and different.

This was one of several sequences I put on the floor. It is subtly more difficult than it looks.

Blog840

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The web store is up and running.  www.dogagility.org/newstore. I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

One Response to “The Morning Fawn”

  1. Christine Says:

    New and different? What?
    I like the course by the way.

Comments are closed.


