10 Dozen Eggs a Month

Four eggs a day. At first you think… well, that’s breakfast! However, if you put just a bit of math to it, this works out to 10 dozen eggs a month. That is a lot of eggs.

I expect that in the winter production will be considerably down. So we’ve frozen several dozen. I can’t testify to what frozen eggs taste like. Maybe they’ll be good for egg salad. Maybe they’ll be better suited for baking recipes that call for eggs or for pancakes or something like that.

You have to be a pretty committed egg eater to down ten dozen a month.

More Fun at QCDTC

Friday I get a one-day working seminar with my friends at Queen City Dog Training Club. We have a great arrangement as I exchange the seminar fee for my entry and travel expenses. It’s an excellent arrangement.

I have several ongoing students in Cincinnati whose progress I’ve had the pleasure to watch over time. So I’m really looking forward to this.

To tell you the truth, they want more than a warm-up. I’ve been thinking through some interesting exercises to do with them. I want them both to have a good work-out, and to come away with some good skills. I’ve frankly got my sights set on course analysis and problem solving. If we have to break it down to fundamental skills training… well, we can do that too.

Here’s what I’d like to put up early:

This sequence is a bit of a serpentine and not the really cruel kind of trick ‘n trap we see in competition these days.  However, it certainly has handling riddles worth examining. I don’t want to give it all up here right now… because I know a couple of them read my blog. I’d rather surprise them.

Oh, by the way, same set of equipment but different numbers. This is certainly more evil that the initial presentation.

Blog868

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The web store is up and running.  www.dogagility.org/newstore. I have five volumes (over 100 pp each) of The Joker’s Notebook available on my web-store at an inexpensive price. These are lesson plans suitable for individual or group classes for teaching dog to work at a distance.

6 Responses to “10 Dozen Eggs a Month”

  1. knithappiness Says:

    Wow, Bud! That’s impressive 10 doz a month. I got the wrong kind of chickens. Two large fowl cochins, and then one unexpectedly died early this summer, so only one hen who is trying her hardest to produce 5 eggs a week. That only works out to 20 eggs a month. We have two baby hens, and I’m hoping that they step up to help out early next spring! There’s nothing like fresh eggs for the baking.

    • budhouston Says:

      Heidi, I have 5 laying hens, which accounts for the math. Btw, I never heard a follow-up on your story whether the city was going to shut down your right to own poultry!

  2. Erica Says:

    Freeze the eggs in ice cube trays – makes it easy to parcel them out for baking, etc. You can also separate them into yolks and whites that same way.

    #14 in the first sequence, #11 in the second are the area that have me flummoxed. My weak discrimination skills will kill us in the second, and my not-so-fleet-of-foot ness will be the challenge in the first. Can’t wait to try, though…

    • budhouston Says:

      Certainly from #14 to #15 is a “handler control position”… to manage the blind approach in the transition. And that, of course, is the riddle.

  3. Ilze Rukis Says:

    Bad news, Bud. Whole eggs don,t freeze well. The yolk defrosts in a congealed glob so you could fry it but that,s about it. Not for baking since it will not whip/ beat smooth. Egg whites are fine. Been there, done that with a gadzillion duck eggs. We ended up feeding ALOT of the eggs to the kennel dogs with their feed. Ilze

    Ilze RUKIS irukis@centurytel.net

  4. Bernadette Says:

    My dogs loved scrambled eggs a few times a week to help use up our eggs. 🙂 We have 8 chickens right now. Love them!

Comments are closed.


