The Fuller Brush Principle ~ Revisited

I’ve had some revisionist thinking about The Fuller Brush Principle. I wrote a blog post on this topic back in 2009: http://wp.me/pmSZZ-fY

You’ll note that the Fuller Brush Principle, according to my logic in 2009 applied largely to the dog. But don’t you know, I’ve decided that it applies in equal if not greater measure to the dog’s trainer and handler.

A reminder of the Fuller Brush: “If twisted it in your hands you’d have this twisted brush. However, if you dropped the twisted brush into hot water it would revert or reform to its original shape.

I’ve observed this terrible phenomenon for many years now. An agility student will be introduced to advanced skills both in handler movement and dog training; and yet when in competition (hot water)… that student will return to “original shape”. That means he/she will revert to handling that is comfortable even though the handling is one-dimensional and assures results that are mediocre at best.

Truly I wish that I was smart enough to give an answer to this, and cure it, at least in my own students. In agility Cassius is our seer: “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.”

The National Dog Agility League

Open invitation for new teams:

http://wp.me/p2Pu8l-3Z

Blog1022 Home

Questions comments & impassioned speeches to Bud Houston Houston.Bud@gmail.com. The web store is up and running. www.dogagility.org/newstore. You’ll find in the web store The Book of Agility Games, an invaluable reference to clubs engaged in league play.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “The Fuller Brush Principle ~ Revisited”

  1. Erica Says:

    You must have seen one (or more) of our posted runs, Bud. Guilty as charged.

    • budhouston Says:

      Erica, I’ve seen you run. I believe you have a fairly good instinct for what it is you have to do, and you have been practicing more advanced skills that are suited to your mobility and grace. Right?

      Bud

  2. Kathy Riley Says:

    Thanks Bud, I know I am a fuller brush. Kathy

    • budhouston Says:

      Hi Kathy,
      I understand the psychology of it. You’re under this intense pressure as you go into the ring to “Q”… as though that Q means anything whatsoever. If you want to be better, you really must stop caring about accolades that are both artificial and irrelevant.
      Bud

Comments are closed.


